Licensed Vocational Nursing (LVN)
A licensed Vocational Nurse is a team member of the health care delivery system in health promotion, disease prevention, treatment and rehabilitation.
AWARD TYPES: Certificate Level 1, Associate of Applied Science
AREA OF STUDY: Health Sciences
Students in the Associate Degree Nursing Program are taught the knowledge and skills needed to work with patients and their families in a variety of health-care settings.
AWARD TYPES: Associate of Applied Science
AREA OF STUDY: Health Sciences
Cabells Nursing/Health Journals and Predatory Reports: Journal analytics information, open access model used, evaluation metrics and author submission details for over 3,400 nursing and health journals. Evaluation metrics include Cabell's Classification Index and Altmetrics. Predatory Journals list is downloadable, and includes information on violations, launch dates and website links, for over 14,000 journals under review in over 60 disciplines.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: the most comprehensive index for nursing and allied health journals. It gives you full-text articles from nursing journals and also evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units.
Gale Health and Wellness: Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health: Full-text titles cited in CINAHL, focused on specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Updated daily, content for nursing professionals in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
PubMed: the largest index of medical literature with citations to over 5,000 journals. It includes all fields, not just nursing. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available.
Stat!Ref: Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like Taber's medical dictionary, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse.
StatPearls: Has over 100,000 multiple choice questions with teaching points, covering 550+ specialties, including USMLE 1, 2, and 3, Board Exams, NCLEX and Specialty Certifications. Content is continuously updated by the editors. Access is unlimited for all users. Please use this link to register: https://www.statpearls.com/plan/TMCLHSRC
What is the NCLEX-PN?
LVNs (Licensed Vocational Nurses) or LPNs (Licensed Practical Nurses) must pass the NCLEX-PN exam before they can practice. NCLEX-PN stands for the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses and is a standardized exam that evaluates a practical nurse's ability to provide safe and competent care to patients.
What is the NCLEX-RN?
Four-year nursing students typically take the NCLEX-RN exam before graduating. This is the standardized test required to become a Registered Nurse (RN). NCLEX-RN stands for National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses.
What resources are available to help study for the NCLEX Exams?
Bates Guide: The 11th edition of the pre-eminent textbook on physical examination contains foundational content to guide students' approaches to history taking, interviewing, and other core assessment concepts, as well as fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline correct performance of physical examination. The comprehensive, evidence-based content is intended for medical students, high-level nursing education and practice markets, as well as related health professions such as physician assistants.
Exam Master: This question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; NAPLEX and PANCE exams, as well as medical certification exams for family and internal medicine. Register at the Exam Master site to set up a personal account. After you authenticate with OpenAthens, enter your Exam Master credentials. Once your account is set up, you can save your credentials. You must use your institutional email address when signing up with Exam Master so you can be authenticated as a valid TMC Library user.
JoVE: The complete JoVE video library provides the breadth and depth needed to meet the needs of science students and researchers at all levels. Includes videos illustrating basic and advanced concepts and methods, novel experimental research and more, from the classroom to the advanced research laboratory.
StatPearls: Has over 100,000 multiple choice questions with teaching points, covering 550+ specialties, including USMLE 1, 2, and 3, Board Exams, NCLEX and Specialty Certifications. Content is continuously updated by the editors. Access is unlimited for all users. Use this link to register: https://www.statpearls.com/plan/TMCLHSRC.
Related Resource: What is the NCLEX? Everything You Need to Know & How to Prepare
