HCC - Coleman College: Health Care & Administration Programs

Medline (Ovid): The unique features of Ovid's interface to the Medline database make it the preferred version of many researchers, particularly when researching for systematic reviews. Click "Change" next to "Resource selected" to limit your search to a desired subset or subsets of Medline, and make use of unique limiters and standard Ovid database features. Provides citations and abstracts from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. This version of Medline is restricted to The TMC Library's academic users. Subscribed to in partnership with THSLC.

Medscape Drugs & Diseases: This is one component of the Medscape site, and the only section not requiring a (free) registration to view. Medscape Reference contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures and anatomy. It contains practice guidelines and a physician finder tool (Health Directory.) It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria and more, arranged by medical specialty. The clinical information here is contributed by top physicians and pharmacists from leading academic medical centers in the United States and worldwide. Baylor College of Medicine is an academic partner of Medscape, along with several other distinguished medical schools and institutions.

Micromedex: Source of information on drugs and natural/herbal products. Each component of Micromedex addresses a broad subject area: medication safety, disease management and treatment (both general and emergency medicine), patient education, toxicology, laboratory tests. Each broad category is fed by a cluster of relevant databases. Each category is accessible in tabs on every page, and affords the user a drop-down choice to narrow a search to a specific database, or a specific topic. Drug interaction information, various calculator tools, a neonatal drug resource (NeoFax), a database of international drug information (Index Nominum), MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and more additional resources are included.

Pill Identified by RxList: Having trouble identifying prescription, OTC, generic, and brand name pills and capsules? Quickly identify drugs and medications, including pill identifying pictures, using the RxList Pill Identifier Tool.

Pill Identified from Drugs.com: Worried about some capsules found in your teenager's room? Not sure about those leftover pills still in the bathroom cabinet? There's a good chance that our Pill Identification Wizard (Pill Finder) can help you match the imprint, size, shape, or color and lead you to the detailed description in our drug database.

PubMed: PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.

Web of Science: The Web of Science is a database on the Web of Knowledge platform that integrates multiple citation indexes: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index Expanded: 1900-present Social Sciences Citation Index: 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975-present Conference Proceedings Citation Index™ Science: 1990-present Social Science & Humanities: 1990-present Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2015-present