McGovern Medical School Library

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! The world's most trusted clinically focused anatomy text! Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout , make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a "second brain") and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. "Bottom Line" boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint. Clinical Blue Box animations, case studies, and interactive multiple-choice questions online at thePoint.lww.com facilitate review and self-testing.

Real-world guidance for today's anatomy lab. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant's Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations provide students with the ultimate lab resource. For more than seventy years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy has continually adapted to meet the needs of each generation of students, while maintaining the Grant's tradition of excellence. The meticulously updated fourteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new features that make it even more practical and user-friendly: Recolorization of the original Grant's Atlas images from high-resolution scans add a new level of organ luminosity and tissue transparency, and enable the formation of 3D constructs for each body region. This lavish visual enhancement ensures a vastly improved experience in learning the structure and function of the human body. See the enhanced color and detail here: https://youtu.be/KdLzQUoG54Y Schematic illustrations now feature a uniform style and consistent coloring , clearly showing the relationships of structures and clarifying anatomical concepts. Newly revised legends with highlighted clinical applications describe the anatomic features and provide context for health care practice. Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings. Updated and improved tables help organize muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title   Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments.   Grant's Dissector, Seventeenth Edition provides step-by-step human cadaver dissection procedures for students to perform in the anatomy lab and to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. More informative and approachable than ever, this updated seventeenth edition broadens students' understanding of key dissection procedures and readies them for success in healthcare practice.   Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview that provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session and includes relevant surface anatomy. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages students to reflect on and synthesize the information. New and revised illustrations, including new surface landmark illustrations, strengthen students' grasp of common dissection procedures. New chapter introductions focus students' attention on relevant Clinical Correlations.  Reorganized Skeletal and Surface Anatomy sections guide students logically from palpating bony structures to making skin incisions. Enhanced and streamlined cross-references reinforce understanding with direct links to related content in Grant's Atlas of Anatomy as well as Grant's Dissection Videos. Dissection Overviews guide students through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Numbered, step-by-step Dissection Instructions clarify procedures and enhance the dissection experience. Full-color illustrations improve students' accuracy and precision from initial incisions through deeper dissections. Clinical Correlation boxes place procedures in a clinical context to ready students for healthcare practice. Lippincott® Connect features:  Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience.  Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension.  Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can:  Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics.  Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material.  Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later.  Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.