LibGuides: McGovern Medical School Library: PBL Resources

URL for PBL Page

libguides.library.tmc.edu/McGovernMed/PBL

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Find bibliographic citations with abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE and citations to NCBI Bookshelf items. Registered academic users may use the TMC Library Get Full Text icons to access full text.

PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Preformatted clinically-based PubMed queries.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Sources of information in many diverse disciplines are retrievable with Google Scholar. A search can return citations to articles, theses, books, patents, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and the Web itself. Scholar ranks your search results according to the full text of each document, its place of publication, its author, and the frequency/currency of its citation by others. With an individual Google Scholar registration one can set persistent preferences, among them the convenient option to display TMC Library's holdings at title level (and/or those of other libraries.) In either case, the "Advanced Scholar Search" page allows restriction of your search results to a particular date range, subject area, author or journal.

Details on how to set up Google Scholar to view TMC Library holdings is available here: http://askus.library.tmc.edu/faq/2007.