McGovern Medical School Library

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text in book-only format includes fully-illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.   NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.   UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations.  UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.

Known for its concise, easy-to-read writing style and comprehensive coverage, Cecil Essentials of Medicine has been a favorite of students, residents, and instructors through nine outstanding editions. This revised 10th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with a focus on high-yield core knowledge of key importance to anyone entering or established in the field of internal medicine. Fully revised and updated by editors Edward J. Wing and Fred J. Schiffman, along with other leading teachers and experts in the field, Cecil Essentials remains clinically focused and solidly grounded in basic science. New focus on high-yield, core knowledge necessary for clerkships or residencies in medicine, with concise, complete coverage of the core principles of medicine and how they apply to patient care. Each section describes key physiology and biochemistry, followed by comprehensive accounts of the diseases of the organ system or field covered in the chapters. Full-color design enhances readability and retention of concepts, while numerous imaging videos cover cardiovascular disease, endoscopy, sphincterotomy, and more. Superb images and photographs vividly illustrate the appearance and clinical features of disease. New chapters cover Women's Cancer and Transitions in Care from Children to Adults with Pulmonary Disease. Student Consult features include web-only extras, additional figures and tables, clinical photos, radiologic images, video procedures, imaging studies, and audio recordings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

For more than forty years, the single-best guide for learning how to become a master clinical diagnostician Much more than a text describing how to perform a history and physical examination, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination is unmatched in its ability to help you logically assess symptoms and physical signs to facilitate development of reasonable, testable diagnostic hypotheses. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis guide, DeGowin's: Describes how to obtain a complete history and perform a thorough physical examination Links symptoms and signs with the pathophysiology of disease Presents a symptom, sign, anatomy, and physiology-based approach to differential diagnosis Facilitates efficient cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses Organized as a practical bedside guide to assist diagnosis, DeGowin's is valuable as a quick reference at the point-of-care or as a text to study the principles and practice of history taking and physical examination.

A fun, fast, effective way for students to learn how to perform a complete diagnostic examination Based on content from the classic point-of-care guide DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, these flashcards enable students to brush up on their diagnostic examination procedural skills by asking questions that test their knowledge and providing answers that impart must-know information. Over 200 two-sided cards that contain an open-ended question with a concise, bulleted answer on the flip side. The cards focus on the diagnoses most frequently tested on the USMLE Step 2 and 3 examinations. Perfect for enhancing diagnostic and decision-making skills, each card features: A common patient complaint, or physical finding, that forms the basis of a clinical vignette--which emphasizes a key diagnostic hypothesis concept Guidance for taking a methodical, systematic approach to diagnosis based on the patient history and physical examination A focus on diagnostic clues and progressive problem-solving that facilitates clinical decision-making  Clinical Pearls that highlight a clinical dilemma and provide high-yield nuggets of information that are relevant to day-to-day practice Identifier icons for main topic areas designed to make the cards easy to use and shuffle.

Users must register for a free MyAccess account to use these flashcards.

Author Biography Dennis Kasper, MD is Professor of Medicine at Harvard and a leading researcher of the health and disease implications related to host-microbe interactions and the human microbiome. Anthony Fauci, MD is Director of the National Institutes for Allergy and Infectious Diseases, and recipient of the Lasker Prize for Medicine. He is a leading authority in HIV and AIDS, immunology, and management of Ebola Virus Disease. Dan Longo, MDis Deputy Editor, New England Journal of Medicine and Professor of Medicine, Brigham and Women''s Hospital/Harvard Medical School. Dr. Longo is a highly regarded cancer specialist. Stephen Hauser MDis Robert A. Fishman Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology, UCSF School of Medicine. He is a leading authority on multiple sclerosis. J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhDis Robert G. Dunlop Professor of Medicine, Dean, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, and Executive Vice President, University of Pennsylvania Health System. Joseph Loscalzo MD, PhD is Hersey Professor of the Theory and Practice of Medicine, Harvard Medicine School and a leading authority in many aspects of cardiovascular medicine. The landmark guide to internal medicine has been updated and streamlined for today''s students and clinicians Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison''s Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison''s provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Presented in two volumes: Volume 1 is devoted to foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; Volume 2 covers disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men''s Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more Increased number of the popular Harrison''s clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full color; crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Access to outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, and more Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison''s patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, the book''s several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison''s: "Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text. The accompanying DVD includes extensive video and image collections of pathology, histology, procedures, additional lectures, and radiology......Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. " Doody''s Review Service reviewing the previous edition of Harrison''s

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Nothing prepares you for exam success like Harrison's! VIBRANT FULL-COLOR PRESENTATION INCLUDES COLOR ATLAS -- 500 ALL-NEW QUESTIONS! Now you can add the unmatched authority of Harrison's to your board review or test preparation. Based on the content of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition, this rigorous study aid is essential for Internal Medicine Board certification or recertification/maintenance of certification, or as a refresher for any internal medicine examination. Reflecting the accuracy, currency, and wide scope of Harrison's, this complete review of internal medicine delivers more than 1,000  extremely challenging review questions, many of which utilize realistic patient scenarios, including radiographic and pathologic images. Each question is accompanied by explanations for correct and incorrect answers. These explanations -- which are derived from and cross-referenced to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition - are one of the most effective ways to learn and teach internal medicine. They are designed to bolster your understanding of pathophysiology, epidemiology, differential diagnosis, clinical decision making, and therapeutics. The format of the book has also been enhanced, allowing for a more effective use of color images throughout. Readers will appreciate the convenience of having color images next to their citations in the text. A GREAT WAY TO LEARN INTERNAL MEDICINE: * Coverage spans the entire spectrum of internal medicine * Each topic is covered in proportion to its level of importance on the Internal Medicine Examination Blueprint * Approximately 500 NEW, never-before-published Q&As (more than 60% of the questions are NEW!) * Includes full-color atlas * Content follows the organization of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition - making it perfect for side-by-side study * Beautiful full-color presentation  

Learn how to conduct a patient-centered health history and physical examination! Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination: An Interprofessional Approach, 10th Edition takes a uniquely interprofessional collaborative approach to health assessment, with a strong emphasis on lifespan considerations and differential diagnosis of unexpected findings. Each core chapter is organized into four sections - Anatomy and Physiology, Review of Related History, Examination and Findings, and Abnormalities - with lifespan content integrated into each area. Written by a team of nurse practitioners and physicians, this one-of-a-kind textbook uses evidence-based guidelines to help you master hands-on exam techniques as well as communication skills that build rapport and trust with the patient. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach is written by two advanced practice nurses and three physicians, providing balanced expertise in both pediatric and adult-geriatric health. UNIQUE! Integrated lifespan content provides separate sections in each chapter for Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Patients, and Older Adults. UNIQUE! Compassionate, patient-centered approach emphasizes developing good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making skills. UNIQUE! Strong emphasis on social inclusiveness and patient-centeredness incorporates LGBTQ+ patients and providers, with special emphasis on cultural competency, history taking, and special considerations for examination of the breasts, female and male genitalia, reproductive health, thyroid, and the anus/rectum/prostate. UNIQUE! Cross-references to Dains' Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care help you take the next step in clinical reasoning and also develop diagnostic reasoning skills. Differential Diagnosis tables are provided throughout the text. Clinical Pearls offer insights and practical, real-world expertise. Evolve website includes assessment video clips, animations, review questions, performance checklists, and more. NEW! 60 new illustrations and new videos include 30 drawings and 30 photos in the textbook, along with 15 new health assessment videos (including The Head-to-Toe Exam and Navigating the EMR) provided free on the Evolve website with every new copy of the textbook. NEW! Updated content includes human trafficking screening, genetics and genomics, Healthy People 2030 guidelines, and a new mnemonics quick reference inside the back cover. NEW! Thoroughly revised The Patient Record chapter is refocused to reflect the EMR's benefits (such as order entry, clinical decision support, and linkages to lab results) and how to overcome challenges (such as poor patient experience and the need to be careful about what is written in the record). NEW! Updated LGBTQ+ considerations (e.g., health screening considerations) and cultural content throughout reflect a current understanding of and greater sensitivity to these often underserved patient populations. NEW Think About. boxes direct you to next steps when you see particular clusters of findings. NEW Unexpected Findings icon helps beginning practitioners differentiate common normal variations from abnormalities that might warrant follow-up.

The Medical Interview by Drs. Steven A. Cole and Julian Bird equips you to communicate effectively with your patients so you can provide optimal care! This best-selling, widely adopted resource presents a practical, systematic approach to honing your basic interviewing skills and managing common challenging communicating situations. Its Three-Function Approach - "Build the Relationship," "Assess and Understand," and Collaborative Management" offers straightforward tasks, behaviors, and skills that can be easily mastered, making this an ideal learning tool for beginners and a valuable reference for experienced healthcare professionals. Effectively meet a full range of communication challenges including language and cultural barriers, sexual issues, elderly patients, breaking bad news, and non-adherence. Easily apply proven techniques with help from supportive case examples and actual interview questions. Get the skills you need now with new chapters covering advanced topics and applications including "Presentation and Documentation," nonverbal communication, using psychological principles in medical practice, and integrating structure and function. Quickly review information with summary tables, boxes and bulleted lists. Get access on the go with the fully searchable text online at Student Consult, including cost-free access to a specially customized, interactive web-based Module on Brief Action Planning (BAP), a key component of the web-based, interactive Comprehensive Motivational Interventions (CMI)T e-learning platform.