McGovern Medical School Library

LEARN BIOCHEMISTRY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE USMLE Step 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Biochemistry provides 53 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, biochemistry pearls, and USMLE-style reviewquestions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 53 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical and dental students preparing for course exams and the Boards

Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, 6th Edition links biochemistry to physiology and pathophysiology, empowering students to confidently apply fundamental concepts to the practice of medicine -- from diagnosing patients to recommending effective treatments. This proven, application-centered approach builds biochemical coverage around related clinical concepts to anchor students' understanding to a clinical context from day one. Intuitively organized chapters center on hypothetical patient vignettes to emphasize clinical applications, and helpful icons, images, and review questions make complex concepts easier to grasp. New Genetics chapter instills a foundational understanding of this essential topic without the need for a separate resource. More than 700-chapter review questions -- including over 200 new questions -- with answers and explanations prepare students for success on USMLE exams and others. The Waiting Room clinical case studies at the beginning of each chapter emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemical concepts and enable students to practice applying knowledge to real-world clinical scenarios. Clinical Notes and Method Notes in the chapter margins help students hone their critical thinking and laboratory application skills. Chapter Summaries and Key Content lists that detail essential chapter takeaways at a glance allow students to study more efficiently. Clinical Comments and Biomechanical Comments, throughout the text, allow students to make a smooth transition to practice.  Additional Online Features: New End-of-Section Exams- totaling 100 questions Animations Supplemental text, tables, and figures Disease links Disease methods Full patient profiles

Providing an easy-to-digest, comprehensive review of what can be a complex and challenging subject, The Developing Human: Clinically Oriented Embryology, 12th Edition, covers all aspects of normal and abnormal embryonic and fetal development. In a clear, concise manner, this lavishly illustrated text has been extensively revised to incorporate recent research and current clinical practice guidelines, meeting the needs of medical and health sciences students as well as those in graduate programs. Online features include multiple-choice questions and narrated animations to further support student success. Guides you month by month and stage by stage through embryo and fetal organ and systems development, using full-color photographs of clinical cases, relevant modern medical imaging, and numerous high-quality supportive figures Covers timely topics such as signaling pathways used during development, epigenetics, gene editing and CRISPR/Cas9 technology, reproductive in-vitro technology, stem-cell culture and creation and use of human organoids and early embryoids, morphogens, new teratogens (infections and environmental chemicals), and clinical genetics of common birth defects Emphasizes modern clinical imaging techniques, with many new 3D HD color rendered images of embryos and fetuses, 3D constructions of whole embryos, and imaging updates to sections on the head and neck, genitourinary system, ovarian development, nervous system, eyes, and integumentary system Details how molecular biology has affected clinical practice, including techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation Contains clinical "Blue Boxes" cases with answers to questions, numerous illustrations, crisp medical imaging figures, and many clinical photographs Provides clinically-oriented problems for each chapter, with corresponding answers and explanations designed to facilitate discussion and learning. In addition, multiple-choice questions and answers are available online for supportive self-assessment Features 18 outstanding, narrated, full-color animations to help you as you explore and learn the complexity of embryological development Provides the knowledge base needed for today's examinations, including USMLE Step 1, as well as for future clinical practice An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud\

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Concise, clearly written, and vibrantly illustrated, Langman's Medical Embryology, 15th Edition, makes complex embryology concepts approachable to help you build the clinical understanding essential to your success in medical practice, nursing, or other health professions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify the stages of embryonic development with rich detail, and engaging learning features, clinical examples, and online review questions ready you for the challenges ahead on your exams and in clinical practice. NEW! Medical Embryology Animations, now included with the purchase of the print book, allow users to visualize the stages of human development and master the corresponding anatomical relationships. UPDATED! Clinical Correlates boxes reinforce clinically relevant content through realistic case-based scenarios you're likely to encounter in practice. UPDATED! More than 400 full-color illustrations, micrographs, and clinical images clarify key aspects of embryonic development in vivid detail. UPDATED! Clinical vignette and USMLE-style multiple-choice questions, available via digital access, with answers provide valuable self-assessment and strengthen your test-taking confidence.  Problems to Solve boost your critical thinking capabilities. End-of-Chapter Summaries detail key stages of development, terms, and clinical conditions for each chapter at a glance.

First published in 1966, Thompson and Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine has become an essential textbook for medical students, genetic counseling students, students in laboratory medicine, and more advanced trainees. With its focus on fundamental principles in human genetics and genomics and their application to medicine, the book has served many as a well-thumbed resource they return to over and over. Such students can continue to depend on this valuable text, joining those in newer fields of genome data analysis for all they need to know about genetics and genomics throughout their basic science training, clinical placements and beyond. Coverage includes new discoveries--such as the functional roles of non-coding RNAs, chromatin regulation and epigenetics--latest technologies, and new diagnoses they are enabling.

For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice. Illustrated by clinicians, for clinicians, it contains more than 550 exquisite plates plus dozens of carefully selected radiologic images for common views. Presents world-renowned, superbly clear views of the human body from a clinical perspective, with paintings by Dr. Frank Netter as well as Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Content guided by expert anatomists and educators: R. Shane Tubbs, Paul E. Neumann, Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins, Martha Johnson Gdowski, Virginia T. Lyons, Peter J. Ward, Todd M. Hoagland, Brion Benninger, and an international Advisory Board. Offers region-by-region coverage, including muscle table appendices at the end of each section and quick reference notes on structures with high clinical significance in common clinical scenarios. Contains new illustrations by Dr. Machado including clinically important areas such as the pelvic cavity, temporal and infratemporal fossae, nasal turbinates, and more. Features new nerve tables devoted to the cranial nerves and the nerves of the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and includes common clinically used eponyms.

Known for its hallmark Clinical Blue Boxes, Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy, 7th Edition, combines an easy-to-read approach, dynamic surface anatomy and medical imaging features, and engaging digital resources to build clinical confidence and equip users for success from foundational science courses through clinical training and practice.   The concise, user-friendly format emphasizes structures and functions critical to physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. This updated 7th Edition reflects the latest clinical perspectives and is supported by valuable self-assessment tools, case studies, and interactive BioDigital software to enrich understanding for students and practitioners alike. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Medical Imaging sections familiarize students with plain and contrast radiographic, MRI, CT, and ultrasonography studies they'll use in clinical practice. Comprehensive tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review.

A go-to dissection resource for generations, Grant's Dissector, 18th Edition, provides comprehensive, step-by-step guidance for the dissection of the human cadaver, empowering users to recognize important anatomic relationships and ensure successful outcomes in the anatomy lab. This updated 18th Edition is easy to use and exhaustive in scope, offering the perfect balance of foundational coverage and the latest approaches to broaden your understanding of key dissection procedures and ready you for success in healthcare practice.   Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview that provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session and includes relevant surface anatomy. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages you to reflect on and synthesize the information for the most accurate and effective outcomes. UPDATED! New and revised illustrations improve students' accuracy and precision from initial incisions to deeper dissection. Chapter Introductions focus students' attention on relevant Clinical Correlations for healthcare practice. Dissection Overviews outline key steps and relevant surface anatomy and osteology, including illustrated landmarks and procedural guidance from palpating bony structures to making skin incisions. Dissection Instructions deliver numbered, step-by-step support to clarify procedures and ensure confidence throughout the dissection experience. UPDATED! Cross-references to related figures and videos in Grant's Atlas of Anatomy and Grant's Dissection Videos reinforce understanding and streamline the dissection process. 

This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning For five decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, this trusted classic provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology. With coverage of all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more, Junqueira's is a valuable foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to clarify key concepts. This is an essential resource for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology. Junqueira's Basic Histology, Seventeenth Edition features: New: 550 Q&A - 300 more than the previous edition! Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlighting key content Clinical correlations for each topic Illustrations depicting key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs that deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable Appendix that explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online New: PowerPoint slides with illustrations and micrographs via AccessMedicine

Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Immunology, 3rd Edition, offers an engaging, vividly illustrated presentation and all of the popular learning features of the Lippincott® Illustrated Review series to reinforce essential immunology concepts and connect basic science to real-life clinical situations. Like other titles in this series, this dynamic resource follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of vibrant illustrations and study aids that clarify complex information and ensure retention.   Whether used as a review text for a short immunology course or paired with Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology for a combined microbiology/immunology course, this revised and updated edition familiarizes readers with the latest practices in immunology and emphasizes clinical application to deliver unparalleled preparation for exams and clinical practice.  Revised and expanded content equips you with the most current perspectives and practices in clinical immunology. More than 300 full-color, annotated illustrations clarify complex immunology concepts in vivid detail. Clinical Application boxes demonstrate the practical application of immunology concepts in clinical scenarios. Chapter Study Questions and Answers test your retention and comprehension. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help you grasp how immunological concepts relate to other basic sciences. Chapter summaries and chapter overviews highlight the most important concepts and takeaways in each chapter. Updated end-of-text review questions boost your test-taking confidence.

A completely updated, revised, and expanded concise, conceptual approach to understanding the immune systems as a primary defense to maintain health and homeostasis. This expanded version includes the aspects of microbiology and related immune defense mechanisms important in combating disease, as well critical components related to the field of vaccine development. Immunology as a subject is no longer confined to the realms of "immunology" or "microbiology" studies. Indeed, the subject matter has become increasingly important to understand complex mechanisms found within a wider range of biological systems.

Comprehensive, clinically oriented, and practical, Medical Microbiology, Tenth Edition, remains the go-to text for foundational coverage of key interrelated concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and infectious diseases. Clear and engaging coverage of the microbial world and its interface with our bodies and the environment provides the foundation to understand these roles in individual and public health and disease-helping you master the essentials of microbiology to effectively prepare you for coursework, exams, and your future career. Focuses on helping the scientist-, health professional- and clinician-in-training develop a current, complete, and deeper understanding of bacteriology, immunology, virology, mycology, and parasitology, and answer the question: What information do I need to know that will help me understand how to treat an infected patient? Contains a new section of eight chapters on Infectious Diseases by Organ System for optimized clinical context Includes clinical photographs and cases to correlate basic science with examples of clinical syndromes Provides quick reference for efficient study with excellent illustrations, chapter summaries, key information organized in convenient tables, and review questions Offers additional learning resources online, including over 200 self-assessment questions, microscopic images of the microbes, and more.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness.  Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review:  *640+ USMLE-style review questions  *350+ illustrations  *140+ tables *22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills  *An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms  *Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies  *Full-color images and micrographs  *Chapter-ending summaries  *Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective. 

An understanding of the nervous system at virtually any level of analysis requires an understanding of its basic building block, the neuron. The third edition of From Molecules to Networks provides the solid foundation of the morphological, biochemical, and biophysical properties of nerve cells. In keeping with previous editions, the unique content focus on cellular and molecular neurobiology and related computational neuroscience is maintained and enhanced. All chapters have been thoroughly revised for this third edition to reflect the significant advances of the past five years. The new edition expands on the network aspects of cellular neurobiology by adding new coverage of specific research methods (e.g., patch-clamp electrophysiology, including applications for ion channel function and transmitter release; ligand binding; structural methods such as x-ray crystallography). Written and edited by leading experts in the field, the third edition completely and comprehensively updates all chapters of this unique textbook and insures that all references to primary research represent the latest results.

Neuroscience is a discipline that employs the tools and language of anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, molecular biology, neurology and psychiatry. It occupies a rather unique position in the biomedical sciences due to the fact that it not only addresses an organ of critical importance, but also addresses more philosophical issues such as the physiological basis of mind, our emotions and our perceptions of the physical world in which we live. Neuroscience Online provides an open-access electronic resource for students, faculty, and those interested in neuroscience. The project began in 1999 and the first module was released in 2007, and is under continual review and updating.

Comprehensive, accessible, and highly illustrated, Robbins, Cotran & Kumar Pathologic Basis of Disease, 11th Edition, offers an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. Ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, coursework, or as a clinical reference, this acclaimed text is a must-have resource for students, residents, researchers, academic faculty, and practitioners. Explains concepts in a clear and concise manner, progressing logically from pathogenesis to morphology to clinical features of major human disease entities Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, selected additional reading, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, many new and significantly revised figures, and gross and microscopic images depicting disease processes Brings you up to date with the latest information on disease pathogenesis, including tumor-host interactions, the pathogenesis and pathology of COVID-19, and the role of the microbiome in non-communicable diseases, as well as current classification systems, molecular and genetic testing, personalized medicine, and targeted therapeutics Reflects increased attention to diversity and inclusion throughout. Shares the knowledge and expertise of two new editors: educator and scientist Dr. Jayanta Debnath of UCSF Department of Pathology, and educator and illustrator Dr. Abhijit Das of Janakpuri Super Specialty Hospital

Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more.

Atlas of Anatomic Pathology with Imaging - A Correlative Diagnostic Companion is a valuable teaching tool for medical students and residents in several specialities such as pathology, radiology, internal medicine, surgery and neurologic sciences. Its need is all the more urgent given the severe shortcuts in the teaching of anatomic pathology following the decrease in the number of autopsies performed. Many of the images shown in the atlas would not be available without performing autopsies and therefore this atlas is an essential for all those in the field.   Atlas of Anatomic Pathology with Imaging - A Correlative Diagnostic Companion is the first to combine gross anatomic pictures of diseases with diagnostic imaging. This unique collection of material consisting of over 2000 illustrations complied by experts from around the world is a valuable diagnostic resource for all medical professionals.

Cardiovascular Pathology, Fifth Edition provides a comprehensive treatise on the pathology of cardiovascular diseases, combining presentations of detailed pathology of cardiovascular diseases coupled with contemporary insights into etiology and pathogenesis. Twenty-two chapters cover general topics, including cardiovascular genetics, heart failure, and transplantation, and specific congenital and acquired cardiovascular diseases, therapeutic interventions, and forensic aspects. New chapters address the scope of practice and training in cardiovascular pathology, with a focus on major diagnostic approaches used in contemporary practice and research in cardiovascular pathology, and a perspective on the field of cardiovascular regenerative medicine linked to the basic pathobiology of cell-based therapy. The book provides a unique combination of details of pathological anatomy essential for pathologists involved in the evaluation of cardiovascular specimens and cardiovascular diseases, and is an excellent reference for anyone interested in the natural history and therapeutic advances in the cardiovascular field.

Gain critical insight into the structure-function relationships and the pathological basis of human disease with Netter's Illustrated Human Pathology. With a visually vibrant approach, this atlas provides clear and succinct representations of common human diseases by relating anatomical changes to the functional and clinical manifestations of disease and their underlying causes and mechanisms. Updated throughout, it offers a superb complement to more comprehensive textbooks and presentations of pathology, including course syllabi. It can also be used as an adjunct for study of gross and microscopic pathology specimens in laboratory exercises, and makes a great review resource for students, medical residents, physicians and other healthcare professionals. Grasp and retain key pathologic concepts and conditions.  Beginning with a concise summary of the various pathological processes and diseases, each chapter consists of illustrations of pathological processes and diseases accompanied by concise text aimed at clarifying and expanding the information presented in the illustrations. Gain a superb visual understanding through more than 380 classic Netter and new Netter-style images, gross and microscopic photographs and tables. Reference information effortlessly with numerous tables throughout including 452 figures and 255 slides. Take your learning farther with Student Consult access.

The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text--updated with new content and USMLE-style questions Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more. Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Sixteenth Edition features: 330 full-color illustrations 100 drug tables 50 USMLE-style questions Chapter on cannabinoids A strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes Case studies and chapter-ending summary tables Organization that reflects the syllabi of pharmacology courses Descriptions of important new drugs

A favorite text of physiology students worldwide, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology delivers the complex knowledge you need to master in a distinctive, easy-to-digest format. The fifteenth Edition of this bestselling text is fully up to date and provides clear, comprehensive coverage of the content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students. The unique format ensures maximum learning and retention of complex concepts: a larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information is detailed in a smaller font and highlighted in pale blue-making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Contains new information on physiology and the gut microbiome and clinically important sex differences in physiology lab values. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Utilizes two font sizes: a larger font for fundamentals, and a smaller font that highlights relevant integrated sciences, clinical examples, pathophysiology, or detailed mechanisms that students can read as needed. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams-all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Includes online access to heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures, with the ability to search, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.

Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand.  Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams.  Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles.  Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more.  Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.  Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text.  Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

We are pleased to present this second edition of Ganong’s Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review. As with the first edition, our primary goal has been to streamline the text of the “parent” volume, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology for ease of review, retaining only the most high-yield concepts and illustrations. We have updated the content where needed, aligned the self-study questions with the order in which concepts are presented in the text, and expanded the explanations of why the answer to these questions is in fact the best one and why the distractors are wrong, further enhancing conceptual understanding of physiology rather than simply reinforcing rote memorization. We continue to believe that this companion volume represents a robust resource for USMLE preparation and have been gratified by the reception that the first edition received.

The review students need to excel on their medical physiology course exams and the USMLE This powerful new review follows the format of the acclaimed Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination & Board Review. It delivers a concise overview of essential high-yield topics and fundamental concepts, followed by USMLE-style Q&A. The chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. Presented in full color, the book includes numerous flow charts, illustrations, and tables that summarize must-know information. Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review succinctly covers all key physiology principles and includes clinical correlations to clarify the connection between physiology and clinical medicine. The book includes two comprehensive 100-question examinations, followed by the correct answer and rationales. Learning aids included bolded key terms, skill-builder questions that prompt readers to review previous material, and end-of-chapter checklists.   ·         Essential for USMLE Step 1 review ·         An excellent course book for physiology ·         Companion website offers interactive customizable qBank    

**Available at the TMC Library in print.

SECTION 1: Medical School Overview -- SECTION 2: Lifestyle and Time Management -- SECTION 3: Motivation and Mental Health -- SECTION 4: Overall Basic Science Strategies -- SECTION 5: Overall Basic Science Resources -- SECTION 6: Subject Guides.