LibGuides: UT School of Public Health: For Faculty and Staff

Services

Consult with a librarian

Schedule a consultation with your liaison librarian by filling out the form here. Learn about how to use TMC Library's resources and services. You can schedule to learn how to search in databases such as PubMed, Embase, Cochrane Library, and many more! You can also schedule consultations to learn how to use RefWorks. For consults for systematic reviews or literature searches, see below.

Schedule a class

You can schedule a class for your student's or your research team here. These classes can be library orientations; about database searching; or about RefWorks. There may be other library-related information you would like for the librarian to review for the class. The librarian will work with you to organize the class to accommodate classroom needs.

Request a literature search

Professional Librarians are available to conduct literature searches on a medical topic. The average turn-around time for literature searches is three business days per request. Literature searches are available to faculty, residents, fellows and post-docs of TMC Library affiliated institutions.

Systematic reviews

The TMC Library offers two services for systematic reviews. UTHealth SPH faculty, staff, and residents/post-docs/residencies can utilize both services.

Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Provided by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more).
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience. Subscribed to in partnership with THSLC.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science is a database on the Web of Knowledge platform that integrates multiple citation indexes: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index Expanded: 1900-present Social Sciences Citation Index: 1900-present Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975-present Conference Proceedings Citation Index™ Science: 1990-present Social Science & Humanities: 1990-present Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2015-present KCI-Korean Journal Database: 1980-present Medline: 1950-present Russian Science Citation Index: 2005-present SciELO Citation Index: 2002-present. All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable. Search across all authors and all author affiliations. Track citation activity with Citation Alerts. See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report. Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns. Not included:Incites Benchmarking and Analysis Reports