Skip to main content

Pharmacy and Drug Research Guide: Drug Information

Drug Information

Most of the resources below are available to TMC Library users only. To access the Library’s online resources, you need to sign up for remote access. You'll need to use your institutional email address so we can verify your status.  You'll receive a verification email asking you to click the URL provided. You will then be emailed your username and password.

Drug Information

Micromedex:  information on dosage, interactions, efficacy, clinical applications, reproductive risk, and pharmacokinetics. Includes some information on international, investigational, and non-prescription drugs. Search drugs by:

brand, generic, or slang name
active ingredients
NDC/HRI/UPC, CAS, EPA codes
product ID numbers
manufacturer name
imprint or description

Lists drug interactions, compares drugs. Includes Trissel's 2 IV Compatibility, and RED BOOK which lists drug pricing.

AccessMedicine: Search by generics, trade names, drug classes. Includes:  

    Basics
    Clinical Pharmacology
    Indications & Usage
    Contraindications
    Warnings/Precautions
    Pregnancy & Lactation
    Adverse Reactions
 

    Interactions
    Dosing
    Administration
    Storage & Compatibility
    Monitoring
    Patient Education
    Pricing

STAT!Ref

AHFS Drug Information:  written and published by pharmacists and reviewed by over 500 experts, AHFS Drug Information® (AHFS DI) is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations: a compilation of all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations. Based on data published over the past 55 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies. It helps readers (a) determine whether formulated compounds will be stable for the anticipated duration of use, (b) properly store and repackage compounded formulations, (c) formulate in accordance with documented standards, and (d) counsel patients on the use and storage of compounded medications.

Nursing Diagnoses in Psychiatric Nursing: Care Plans and Psychotropic Medications: easy-to-use resource on how to develop practical, individualized plans of care for psychiatric and mental health patients. The first half provides the diagnostic information needed to create a care plan; the second half covers the safe administration of psychotropic medications. Organized by DSM-IV and NANDA diagnoses. Indications, route, and dosage listed for individual drugs as well as for classifications.

Drug Information Portal: (free) information on over 50,000 drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA). Includes many drugs in other countries.  Includes:

Consumer health topics
HIV/AIDS treatment
Effects of drugs on breastfeeding mothers and infants
Peer-reviewed biological and physical data
Ingredients/label information for dietary supplements
References from biomedical and scientific journals
References from toxicological journals
Manufacturers drug label for marketed drugs
Patient studies for drugs and treatment
Biological activities and chemical structures
Biological activities against HIV/AIDS
Toxicological and chemical resource locator
Information from the US Food & Drug Administration
Information from the US Drug Enforcement Administration
Information from other government resources

LABELS/PACKAGE INSERTS

DailyMed (NLM/NIH):  (free) medication content and labeling presented in medication package inserts. Information has been reformatted to make it easier to read but its content has not been altered or verified by FDA or National Library of Medicine. Over 64,000 drugs.

Dietary Supplement Label Database (NLM/NIH):  (free) label information for supplements currently on the market or discontinued.

Drug Coding and Billing

National Drug Code Directory (NDC): (free) drug trade names, dosage form, active ingredient(s), strength and unit, package size and type  (HHS), (FDA)

Drug Identification

PillBox (NLM/NIH): (free)  images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral solid dosage form medications.

Drugs.com Pill Identifier: (free) match the imprint, size, shape, and color.

Micromedex:  includes international, investigational, and non-prescription drugs. Search drugs by:

brand, generic, or slang name
NDC/HRI/UPC, CAS, EPA codes
product ID numbers
imprint or description

Electronic Orange Book: (free) search by active ingredient applicant holder, proprietary name, or application number (HHS), (FDA)

National Drug Code Directory (NDC): (free) search by proprietary name, application number, active ingredient, NDC number, company/labeler. Includes dosage form, active ingredient(s), strength and unit, package size and type (HHS), (FDA)

RxList Pill Identifier: (free) Search by imprint, color, shape, brand/generic.