LibGuides: McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics at UTHealth Houston: TMC Library Resources for MSBI

McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics at UTHealth Houston

libguides.library.tmc.edu/McWilliamsSBMI

The TMC Library supports many institutions in the Texas Medical Center including the McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics at UTHealth Houston.

This guide is intended to collect information about TMC Library resources and services.

Connect with TMC Library

Request an appointment for a consultation with a librarian
Classes at TMC Library
Request a Class or Orientation form
OpenAthens LibGuide
More information on the authentication system used for remote access at the TMC Library.
PubMed LibGuide
Basic overview of PubMed searching from the TMC Library.

Top Resources for UT MSBI

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Find bibliographic citations with abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE and citations to NCBI Bookshelf items. Registered academic users may use the TMC Library Get Full Text icons to access full text.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Find biomedical articles from 1947 to the present covering topics such as pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and clinical medicine. Includes over 2,700 journals not indexed in MEDLINE/Pubmed.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceeding, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable. Search across all authors and author affiliations. Track citation activity with Citation Alerts. Watch the WoS self-taught tutorial to learn more! https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/support/wos/
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic management tool that creates and organizes user's own personal database, formats bibliographies and manuscripts, and imports references from a variety of databases using Import Filters. Allows users to import data from RSS feeds. Creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. Use with Windows or Mac operating systems. Register for a Refworks account with your institutional email address to get started.