Genetic Counseling Program Guide - Baylor College of Medicine

The second edition of Genetic Counseling Practice: Advanced Concepts and Skills, provides in-depth content regarding the advanced competencies for meeting patient needs across the changing landscape of genetic counseling practice. The content aligns with the Reciprocal Engagement Model (REM) of practice which integrates the biomedical knowledge and psychosocial aspects of genetic counseling.

Important scientific discoveries and ever-changing guidelines for how to identify and manage patients with hereditary cancer syndromes are constantly evolving. This Third Edition of Counseling About Cancer is completely updated and expanded to feature five entirely new chapters on breast cancer, colon cancer, other solid tumors, clients and families, and genetic test results and follow-up. This is the only reference and clinical book on the market for cancer genetics counselors and other healthcare providers who must quickly assimilate complex and ever-changing data on the hereditary risk for cancer.

Even as classic cytogenetics has given way to molecular karyotyping, and as new deletion and duplication syndromes are identified almost every day, the fundamental role of the genetics clinic remains mostly unchanged. Genetic counselors and medical geneticists explain the "unexplainable,"helping families understand why abnormalities occur and whether they're likely to occur again. Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling is the genetics professional's definitive guide to navigating both chromosome disorders and the clinical questions of the families they impact.

The first book devoted exclusively to the principles and practice of genetic counseling--now in a new edition First published in 1998, A Guide to Genetic Counseling quickly became a bestselling and widely recognized text, used nationally and internationally in genetic counseling training programs.

The process of genetic counseling involves many key components, such as taking a family genetic history, making a diagnosis, and providing communication and support to the family. Among these core processes is the mathematical calculation of the actual risk of a possible genetic disorder. For most physicians and counselors, the mathematics and statistics involved can be major challenge which is not always helped by complex computer programs or lengthy papers full of elaborate formulae. In this clear, reader-friendly guide, Ian Young addresses this problem and demonstrates how riskcan be estimated for inherited disorders using a basic knowledge of the laws of probability and their application to clinical problems.

HELPS YOU DEVELOP AND ASSESS PEDIGREES TO MAKE DIAGNOSES, EVALUATE RISK, AND COUNSEL PATIENTS The Second Edition of The Practical Guide to the Genetic Family History not only shows how to take a medical-family history and record a pedigree, but also explains why each bit of information gathered is important. It provides essential support in diagnosing conditions with a genetic component. Moreover, it aids in recommending genetic testing, referring patients for genetic counseling, determining patterns of inheritance, calculating risk of disease, making decisions for medical management and surveillance, and informing and educating patients.

Genetic Counseling Research: A Practical Guide is the first text devoted to research methodology in genetic counseling. This text offers step-by-step guidance for conducting research, from the development of a question to the publication of findings. Genetic counseling examples, user-friendlyworksheets, and practical tips guide readers through the research and publication processes.

Psychosocial issues are integral to all genetic counseling interactions. They include counselees' beliefs about the cause of birth defects and genetic disorders, the cognitive procession of medical information and risk figures, emotions such as anxiety and guilt, and the complex process ofdecision making. Drawing on direct clinical experience and the growing body of relevant literature, Psychosocial Genetic Counseling provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to understanding these issues and their applications to genetic counseling.

The definitive guide to motivational interviewing (MI) for health care practitioners has been completely revised to reflect important developments and make the approach even more accessible. When it comes to helping patients manage chronic and acute conditions and make healthier choices in such areas as medication adherence, smoking, diet, and preventive care, good advice alone is not enough. This indispensable book shows how to use MI techniques to transform conversations about change. Even the briefest clinical interaction can serve to build trust, clarify patients' goals as well as reasons for ambivalence, and guide them to take positive steps.

Knowledge of the genetic basis of human diseases is growing rapidly, with important implications for pre-conceptional, prenatal, and predictive testing. While new genetic testing offers better insight into the causes of and susceptibility for heritable diseases, not all inherited diseases thatcan be predicted on the basis of genetic information can be treated or cured.

Highly valued across the world by genetic counsellors, medical geneticists and other healthcare professionals, Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling has established itself over previous editions as the essential guide to counselling those at risk from inherited disorders. Fully revised by its new author Angus Clarke, and with additional input from colleagues, this eighth edition provides indispensable and up-to-date guidance, helping readers to navigate the profusion of new information in this area and the associated psychosocial and ethical considerations and concerns.

Handbook of Clinical Adult Genetics and Genomics: A Practice-Based Approach provides a thorough overview of genetic disorders that are commonly encountered in adult populations and supports the full translation of adult genetic and genomic modalities into clinical practice. Expert chapter authors supplement foundational knowledge with case-based strategies for the evaluation and management of genetic disorders in each organ system and specialty area.

Across the last forty years, epidemiology has developed into a vibrant scientific discipline that brings together the social and biological sciences, incorporating everything from statistics to the philosophy of science in its aim to study and track the distribution and determinants of healthevents. A now-classic text, the second edition of this essential introduction to epidemiology presents the core concepts in a unified approach that aims to cut through the fog and elucidate the fundamental concepts. Rather than focusing on formulas or dogma, the book presents basic epidemiologicprinciples and concepts in a coherent and straightforward exposition. By emphasizing a unifying set of ideas, students will develop a strong foundation for understanding the principles of epidemiologic research.

Updated to reflect the newest changes in genetics, Thompson & Thompson's Genetics in Medicine returns as one of the most favored texts in this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders. Acquire the state-of-the-art knowledge you need on the latest advances in molecular diagnostics, the Human Genome Project, pharmacogenetics, and bio-informatics. Better understand the relationship between basic genetics and clinical medicine with a variety of clinical case studies.

Medical Genetics in Pediatric Practice is the pediatrician's primer for molecular biology, genetic testing, and the approach to a child with a suspected genetic disorder. This concise book guides the primary care physician through recognising genetic disorders, taking a complete genetic history, constructing a pedigree, and when to refer. A glossary of genetic terms and a list of critical resources make this book a must have for all primary care physicians. The book includes images of common minor anomalies that should alert the physician to a possible genetic condition.

Langman's Medical Embryology covers embryology for medical, nursing, and health professions students with a strong clinical emphasis. The text is highly valued as a teaching and learning resource for its clinical correlation boxes, summaries, problems to solve, illustrations and clinical images, and clear, concise writing style--all of which make the subject matter accessible to students and relevant to instructors. Online material includes Simbryo--an animation program showing processes, organs, and systems developing in human embryos--as well as review questions and full text online. A separate Faculty Image Bank and PowerPoint presentations are also available.

An essential manual for the future of genetic counseling.Genetic counselors possess the important set of skills necessary to face the unique challenges encountered within the laboratory. As the primary liaisons between genetic technologies and patient-facing clinicians, lab counselors must have equal competency in genetic testing protocols,interpretation, and communication of clinical recommendations.