TMC Library Resources - Genetic Counseling Program Guide - Baylor College of Medicine - LibGuides at Texas Medical Center Library

Connect with the TMC Library

Request an appointment for a consultation with a librarian
Classes at TMC Library
Request a Class or Orientation form
OpenAthens LibGuide
More information on the authentication system used for remote access at the TMC Library.
Baylor College of Medicine Guide
Database Searching Guide
This LibGuide is meant to illustrate database structure and how to search databases according to their design
PubMed LibGuide
Basic overview of PubMed searching from the TMC Library.

Top Resources for Physician Assistant Students

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more).
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Includes Harrison's Online. Provides educational content for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Preformatted clinically-based PubMed queries.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy TV, published by Primal Pictures Ltd, is the online version of their 3D anatomy software. Anatomy TV is the world’s most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. To supplement the core three-dimensional anatomy data are clinical videos and text written by leading medical specialists.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.
Exam Master This link opens in a new window
Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including NCLEX, family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam.

Users must register at the Exam Master site to set up a personal account. After you authenticate with OpenAthens, you will then enter your ExamMaster credentials. Once your account is set up, you can save your credentials. If you are a New User, click on the link that says: “Not registered yet?”

You must use your institutional email address when signing up with Exam Master so you can be authenticated as a valid TMC Library user.