LibGuides: Clinical Resources: General

Comprehensive Tools

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Includes Harrison's Online. Provides educational content for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
Surgical texts, cases, videos and other trusted resources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Find journals, ebooks, image, videos, practice guidelines, patient handouts and drug information across a wide range of medical specialties, as well as search Clinical Overviews/First Consult and Procedures Consult.
Note: Some book chapters do not provide PDFs; only HTML.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Find American Psychiatric Association (APA) journals (FOCUS is Not included), textbooks, practice guidelines and titles related to APA's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM). Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed. (DSM 5®) and its accompanying handbooks and clinical cases. Under the “International” tab, find the Spanish-language edition of American Journal of Psychiatry.
Scientific American Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scientific American Medicine is a peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, covering 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine. Chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology and Women's Health. Includes CME opportunities. In Stat!Ref, click the Texas Consortium link at upper left to be routed to SAM.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like Taber's medical dictionary, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse.

Medscape Reference
Medscape Reference contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures, and anatomy, as well as practice guidelines and a physician finder tool. It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria and more, arranged by medical specialty.
Merck Manual for Healthcare Professionals
Contains clinical calculators, conversion tables, a table of drug trade and generic names, and normal laboratory values.
Trip - Find Evidence Fast
Trip is a search engine for quickly locating documentation on evidence-based practice. It draws from many sources: systematic reviews; evidence-based synopses; practice guidelines from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Australia and other countries; primary research articles from major medical journals; e-textbooks; and decision aids for patients as well as other patient-oriented information.

Guidelines

CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management
CHEMM provides evidence-based information and guidance on a wide variety of topics, including quick chemical identification, acute patient care guidelines, and initial event activities.
Disease Management Project
The Disease Management Project is an online medical reference designed to provide nationally established treatment guidelines for the most commonly seen diseases and conditions.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly.
NICE Pathways
This online tool from the UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence gives fast, easy access by topic to the full range of guidance from NICE, including quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical and public health guidance, and implementation tools.

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Preformatted clinically-based PubMed queries.

BestBETS
BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
A search at this site (updated daily) draws evidence-based healthcare information from DARE, the National Health Service’s Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) database. CRD provides systematic reviews, economic evaluations and health technology assessments.
Cochrane Evidence
View open-access summaries of Cochrane reviews.

Drug Information

Drug Information Portal
This site provides the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers with a convenient gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine, as well as links to drug information from the FDA and CDC, PubMed, and MedlinePlus.
FDA Drugs: Information for Healthcare Professionals
Use the prominent links to navigate to various sections of FDA Drugs: Drug Recalls, Drug Shortages, Drug Safety Communications, Medication Errors, and more.
LactMed (Drugs and Lactation Database)
Residing within TOXNET, this is a peer-reviewed reference tool to help patients and healthcare professionals answer questions about drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed, whether prescription, over-the-counter, or illicit. Information is focused on the possible effects for lactating mothers and breastfed infants and includes links to related and/or alternate drugs.
LIVERTOX
LIVERTOX® provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
Orange Book
The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued FDA-approved drug products.
PDR.net
This online version of the Physician’s Desk Reference offers concise drug summary monographs and FDA Drug Communications of warnings, recalls, and approvals.

Studies

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Currently lists approximately 153,000 studies/trials, with locations in all 50 states and 184 countries.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Save time by limiting your initial search to Etiology, Diagnosis, Therapy, Prognosis, Clinical prediction guides, or Systematic Reviews.
PubMed Single Citation Matcher
Quickly get to the full text of that one specific article you need by entering the citation information here.

SAGE Research Methods Cases: Medicine & Health This link opens in a new window
Master methods used in clinical medical and public health research through case studies and videos.

SUMSearch 2
SUMSearch 2 simultaneously searches free Web resources: PubMed, DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) and National Guideline Clearinghouse for evidence-based healthcare information.

Diagnosis

VisualDX This link opens in a new window
An image-based differential diagnosis tool that is designed to help quickly identify diseases or conditions at the point of care. Includes more than 45,000 medical images, an extensive skin of color image atlas and over 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions. The mobile app is available on iPhone, iPad, and Android.