PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.
The SCOPUS database contains millions of records from 11,700+ life and health sciences publications (including all journals indexed for Medline and EMBASE) and covers most sciences and humanities fields-- total coverage, 22,800+ journal titles. SCOPUS also indexes over 8,000,000 conference papers. Searching also pulls in relevant Web resources, organized under a separate tab. Another tab separates patent results from patent offices in the US and worldwide. SCOPUS provides a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total cites divided by number of articles, and the percentage of non-cited articles. Affiliation searching is also provided. A free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile for saving citation lists and tracking authors; a publication alert service; and direct export to RefWorks. For SCOPUS tutorials, click here. NOTE: Scopus indexes only primary documents; this does not include book reviews and obituaries.
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account.
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians, AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
Anatomy TV, published by Primal Pictures Ltd, is the online version of their 3D anatomy software. Anatomy TV is the world’s most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. To supplement the core three-dimensional anatomy data are clinical videos and text written by leading medical specialists.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.
Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam.
Users must register at the Exam Master site after logging in to their library remote access accounts. Setting up a personal login with Exam Master allows users to create and save their exam questions to their own Exam Master accounts. To access your Exam Master account, log in to your HAM-TMC Library account first. In the database, follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user.
You must use your institutional email address when signing up with Exam Master so you can be authenticated as a valid TMC Library user.