Skip to Main Content

Texas Medical Center-Health Information Librarians Group

A resource for the TMC-HIL Group

History of the TMC-HIL Group

The group began over 30 years ago as the "Houston Health Sciences Library Council." The purpose of the group was to to have open communication, discussion and support for exchange of ideas amongst the health information professionals working in the Texas Medical Center.

Later it became more formally known as the "Texas Medical Center-Health Information Librarians" (TMC-HIL) group. Several officers have served in varying roles over the years but the group generally always has had a President and a Secretary. These offices have been held by:

Date President Secretary

TMC-HIL Officers

2020-Present Stefanie Lapka, University of Houston Keya Lee, TMC Library
2019- 2020 Stefanie Lapka, University of Houston Amy Taylor, Methodist Hospital
2017-2018 Robert Bartlett, Methodist Hospital Amy Taylor, TMC Library
2015-2016 Adela Justice, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center and NN/LM SCR

Brenda Eames, 

TIRR Memorial Hermann

2010-2014 Dean James, TMC Library

Emily Hurst, NN/LM SCR

2003-2010 Marilyn Goff, TWU Adela Justice, TMC Library
2000-2003 Marilyn Goff, TWU Suzanne Ferimer, UH Optometry
1986-1987 Suzanne Ferimer, UH Optometry  
1985-1986   Suzanne Ferimer, UH Optometry



Thanks to Marilyn Goff and Suzanne Ferimer for their supplying historical information and documents for the creation of this TMC-HIL LibGuide.