LibGuides: Medical Humanities: Find Sources

Primary sources: history of medicine and science

National Library of Medicine Archives
Wellcome Images
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
McGovern Historical Center
Archival collections focused on the development of the institutions and hospitals in the TMC in Houston, the careers of Houston physicians and biographical information on Texas physicians.

Memorial Hospital's new maternity ward - 1930s

Secondary sources: articles from scholarly journals

These subscription humanities databases are available through the library. You will be prompted to login with your Resource Access username and password. If you have not set up an account yet, click here to quickly go through the registration process.

PubMed
Humanities research published in the medical literature
JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
Complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines
Humanities Full Text
Search 700 of the most important academic journals in the humanities dating back to 1984.
Artstor
contains roughly half a million images of architecture, paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, as well as images from other forms of 'visual culture.'
Literature Resource Center
Provides biographical content, and critical articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines

Additional resources and commentary

LitMed: Literature Arts Medicine Database
Collection of annotations offering a medical interpretation of many literature, fine art, visual art and performing art works. Created as a comprehensive resource for scholars interested in medical humanities.
Medical Humanities Resources
More medical humanities resources to explore, organized by humanities topic.
33 Charts
Blog examining how technology impacts physician communication
Graphic Medicine
Explores the interaction between the medium of comics and the discourse of healthcare. Includes reviews, podcasts, and lesson plans.

Graphic medicine comic illustrating challenges with clinical handoff