OUP Contemporary Neurology Series: Home

This book provides clinical and supporting scientific background on a diverse group of neurological disorders in an expanding field of neurology, that of neuroimmunology. It includes chapters on multiple sclerosis and related disorders in adults and children, neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder, Guillain-Barré syndrome, chronic inflammatory deymyelinating polyradiculoneuropathy and variants, immune-mediated disorders of the neuromuscular junction, inflammatory myopathies, paraneoplastic disorders and autoimmune encephalitities, and neurologic manifestations of systemic immune-mediated diseases. In addition there is an introductory chapter dealing with basic of immunology and another on mechanisms of action of therapies used in neuroimmunologic disorders. The clinical chapters cover epidemiology, pathology, pathogenesis, and pathophysiology of the different diseases along with clinical presentation, diagnostic testing, differential diagnosis, and treatment.

Motor Neuron Disease in Adults reviews new information as it applies to all aspects of motor neuron disease (ALS, PLS, PMA). The choice of articles is for those that use evidence-based methods to ensure that the new information is solid and advances the topic or issue. The book can be used by anyone who provides any type of care to ALS patients. In particular, neurologists will find the latest information on diagnosis and management, as well as new information on genetics and frontotemporal lobe involvement. Allied health providers will find useful information for their discipline. Patients will also find both specific and general information to help understand what they are experiencing and how to help manage their symptoms.

Migraine is a complex neurological disorder that is characterized by a complex neurobiology, clinical features that may overlap with over 300 causes of headache, and an association with major medical illnesses and comorbid diseases. This books draws upon the authors' vast clinical experience and exhaustive knowledge of the science of migraine and the practice of headache medicine and provides this knowledge in a comprehensive yet digestible format. While migraine is often a subject in other textbooks on headache, it is the sole focus of this volume. The authors provide an up-to-date overview of the evidence base and combine this with their experience and expertise to help practitioners make informed treatment decisions. This book also provides a glimpse into the future describing new treatment modalities, including neurostimulation technologies and biologics that are emerging as potentially valuable treatment options. The authors also deal extensively with the unique and complex management of migraine in women throughout the reproductive life cycle. For those looking for a practical, insightful, and in-depth review on the subject of migraine, there is no other option.

Plum and Posner's Diagnosis and Treatment of Stupor and Coma provides a comprehensive overview of the theory behind regulation of consciousness in humans, the mechanisms of loss of consciousness clinically, and the examination and diagnosis of the cause of loss of consciousness in patients. New sections provide the latest information on the treatment of comatose patients, brain death, recovery from structural coma, and the ethics of dealing with comatose patients.

This new edition comprises a modern synthesis of the anatomical, physiological, and pharmacological substrate for eye movements, including current views on the reflexive and voluntary control of gaze. This synthesis is based on electrophysiological and inactivation studies in macaque, and behavioural studies in humans that incorporate functional imaging and transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) in normals, and clinicopathological studies in patients with neurological, visual, or vestibular disorders.

Clinical neurophysiologic testing is an important component of evaluating patients with complaints that may be attributed to diseases of the central or peripheral nervous system. This classic volume in the Contemporary Neurology Series covers the basic concepts underlying each of the testing techniques and provides comprehensive descriptions of the methods and wide range of electrophysiologic testing available for patients with epilepsy, neuromuscular diseases, movement disorders, demyelinating diseases, sleep disorders, autonomic disorders and those undergoing orthopedic and neurosurgical procedures. This text details the role of each study, the interpretation of findings, and their application clinical problems. This text describes the multiple diagnostic procedures for diverse diseases of the neuromuscular system, including: electroencephalography (EEG); electromyography and nerve conduction studies; single fiber EMG; polysomnography; surface EMG patterns, blood pressure, pulse, sweat measures; vestibular function testing; deep brain stimulator physiology; and intraoperative monitoring. It is a practical textbook for neurologists, physiatrists and clinical neurophysiologists in clinical or research practice or in training. Key features of the new edition include fully updated chapters to reflect new research and techniques in clinical neurophysiology; updated images illustrating key elements of techniques and basic concepts; case examples for practical application.

This second edition of 'Seizures and Epilepsy' is completely revised, due to tremendous advances in the understanding of the fundamental neuronal mechanisms underlying epileptic phenomena, as well as current diagnosis and treatment, which have been heavily influenced over the past several decades by seminal neuroscientific developments, particularly the introduction of molecular neurobiology, genetics, and modern neuroimaging. This resource covers a broad range of both basic and clinical epileptology.

The neuronal ceroid lipofuscinoses are an extremely rare group of inherited neurodegenerative diseases that primarily affect children. Core symptoms of these conditions typically include epilepsy, cognitive decline and visual failure. These diseases are so rare that professionals who come into contact with them need a consultative reference work that enables them to become expert, or identify who to contact for more details.Fully updated and revised, this second edition continues to be the definitive volume on this devastating group of disorders. Written by an international collection of authorities in the field, it provides invaluable advice on their diagnosis, patient care, and new treatments that are available.This new edition of the definitive reference text on the neuronal ceroid lipofuscinoses will prove useful for clinicians, family physicians, research scientists, diagnostic laboratories, families affected by the disease as well as by workers in industry planning translational research.

This book provides a framework for understanding the pathophysiology of diseases involving the vestibular system. The book is divided into four parts: I. Anatomy and physiology of the vestibular system; II. Evaluation of the dizzy patient; III. Diagnosis and management of common neurotologic disorders; and IV. Symptomatic treatment of vertigo. Part I reviews the anatomy and physiology of the vestibular system with emphasis on clinically relevant material. Part II outlines the important features in the patient's history, examination, and laboratory evaluation that determine the probable site of lesion. Part III covers the differential diagnostic points that help the clinician decide on the cause and treatment of the patient's problem. Part IV describes the commonly used antivertiginous and antiemetic drugs and the rationale for vestibular exercises. The recent breakthroughs in the vestibular sciences are reviewed. This book will helpful to all physicians who study and treat patients complaining of dizziness.

H.H. Jasper, A.A. Ward, A. Pope and H.H. Merritt, chair of the Public Health Service Advisory Committee on the Epilepsies, National Institutes of Health, published the first volume on Basic Mechanisms of the Epilepsies (BME) in 1969. Their ultimate goal was to search for a "betterunderstanding of the epilepsies and seek more rational methods of their prevention and treatment." Since then, basic and clinical researchers in epilepsy have gathered together every decade and a half with these goals in mind - assessing where epilepsy research has been, what it has accomplished,and where it should go.In 1999, the third volume of BME was named in honor of H.H. Jasper. In line with the enormous expansion in the understanding of basic epilepsy mechanisms over the past four decades, this fourth edition of Jasper's BME is the most ambitious yet. In 90 chapters, the book considers the role ofinteractions between neurons, synapses, and glia in the initiation, spread and arrest of seizures. It examines mechanisms of excitability, synchronization, seizure susceptibility, and ultimately epileptogenesis. It provides a framework for expanding the epilepsy genome and understanding the complexheredity responsible for common epilepsies as it explores disease mechanisms of ion channelopathies and developmental epilepsy genes. It considers the mechanisms of conditions of epilepsy comorbidities. And, for the first time, this 4th edition describes the current efforts to translate thediscoveries in epilepsy disease mechanisms into new therapeutic strategies.This book, considered the 'bible' of basic epilepsy research, is essential for the student, the clinician scientist and all research scientists who conduct laboratory-based experimental epilepsy research using cellular, brain slice and animal models, as well as for those interested in relateddisciplines of neuronal oscillations, network plasticity, and signaling in brain strucutres that include the cortex, hippocampus, and thalamus. In keeping with the 1969 goals, the book is now of practical importance to the clinical neurologist and epileptologist as the progress of research inmolecular genetics and modern efforts to design antiepileptic drugs, cures and repairs in the epilepsies converge and impact clinical care.

The molecular basis for the physiology of the brain has advanced enormously in the past twenty years with an influx of new information gleaned through technological developments in neuroimaging and molecular discoveries. Molecular Physiology and Metabolism of the Nervous System, authored by Gary A. Rosenberg, an authority on the physiology of brain fluids and metabolism, combines the classic physiology that dates back to the beginning of the nineteenth century with the advances in molecular sciences, providing a strong framework for understanding the diseases that are commonly treated by neurologists. Molecular Physiology and Metabolism of the Nervous System focuses on the current neuropathology and implications of cerebrospinal fluid diseases and diseases of the blood-brain barrier: how the two affect stroke, infection, brain tumors, and increased intracranial pressure. The book discusses the effects of blood flow in stroke and dementia, the disruption of the blood-brain barrier in neuroinflammation, and the dysfunction due to brain edema and increased intracranial pressure. Molecular Physiology and Metabolism of the Nervous System is necessary reading for neurologists, neuroscientists, and residents in neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry, giving them a strong grounding in physiology and metabolism that will aid them in diagnosis and treatment.

Myasthenia Gravis and Myasthenic Disorders, Second Edition is a thoroughly re-written and updated version of the highly successful first edition published in 1999. The current edition begins with an overview of the anatomy and molecular architecture of the neuromuscular junction and the electrophysiologic diagnosis of its disorders. The introductory chapters are followed by a detailed exposition of the pathogenesis, natural history, diagnosis and therapy of the autoimmune myasthenias, the Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome, and the increasingly complex and fascinating diseases collectively referred to as congenital myasthenic syndromes. The acetylcholine receptor is a major target of both autoimmune and inherited myasthenias and a separate chapter reviews its structural and functional properties. The book also describes disorders that often target terminal nerve segment near the neuromuscular junction-- the syndrome of peripheral nerve hyperexcitability and the Guillain-Barre syndrome. Comprehensively written by leaders at the forefront of research, not to mention thoroughly referenced throughout and gorgeously illustrated, this new edition of the classic 1999 text will cement its place as the text on Myasthenia Gravis and related disorders for years to come.

Patients with cancer can suffer from a bewildering variety of neurologic signs and symptoms. The neurologic symptoms are often more disabling than the primary cancer. Symptoms including confusion, seizures, pain and paralysis may be a result of either metastases to the nervous system or one of several nonmetastatic complications of cancer. The physician who promptly recognizes neurologic symptoms occurring in a patient with cancer and makes an early diagnosis may prevent the symptoms from becoming permanently disabling or sometimes lethal. This monograph, an update of the first edition published in 1995, is divided into 3 sections. The first classifies the wide variety of disorders that can cause neurologic symptoms the patient with cancer, discusses the pathophysiology of nervous system metastases, the pathophysiology and treatment of brain edema and the approach to supportive care of common neurologic symptoms such as seizures, pain, and side effects of commonly used supportive care agents. The second section is devoted to nervous system metastases, addressing in turn, brain, spinal cord, meningeal and cranial and peripheral nerve metastases, describing clinical symptoms, approach to diagnosis and current treatment. The third section addresses several nonmetastatic complications of cancer and includes sections on vascular disease, infections, metabolic and nutritional disorders, side chemotherapy, radiation and other diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. The final chapter addresses paraneoplastic syndromes.The book is intended for practicing oncologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons and radiation oncologists as well as internists who treated patients with cancer. Our attempt was to write a book that would assist oncologists in understanding neurologic problems and neurologists in understanding oncologic problems. The book is also intended for physicians training to specialize in any of the above areas. It includes a practical approach to the diagnosis and management of patients with neurologic disease who are with known to have cancer or in whom cancer is suspected.

Consults in the Intensive Care Unit to evaluate and manage acute neurological clinical problems are usually of considerable complexity and are the most challenging ones. This single authored monograph is the standard reference on neurological complications of critically ill patients and hasbeen the first and only book of its kind. This comprehensive book will assist the neurologist to recognize and treat complex neurological complications in critically ill patients admitted to medical, surgical, trauma, and transplant intensive care units. Every chapter provides a representativeselection of the state of the art in the intensive care unit, necessary for an understanding of critical care medicine.It offers practical advice on how to best deal wtih coma after cardiopulmonary resuscitation, failure to awaken after surgery, delirium, new onset seizures, generalized weakness, acute paraplegia, movement disorders, and many other manifestations of a neurologic emergency. Other topics includeneurologic complications after organ transplantation, spinal cord injury after thoracoabdominal surgery, neurologic complications of invasive procedures and devices, complications from cardiac surgery, traumatic brain, spine, and peripheral nerve injury, and environmental injuries such ashypothermia and near drowning. This book also addresses end of life care in the intensive care unit and the responsibilities of the consulting neurologist.This third edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded with new chapters on viral infectious outbreaks (West Nile and tick-borne encephalitis), intoxication, poisoning, and chemical and biowarfare. The book closes with a new chapter that provides a practical model on how to best approach thesecomplex patients and five common scenarios are discussed. This third edition adds more than 100 new figures, tables and helpful maangement algorithms, and over 500 new references. All major topics are discussed systematically, thoroughly, and logically. This book is a key practical text forneurologists, intensivists, trauma surgeons, transplant surgeons, and trainees, but also is essential for the critical care nursing staff.

Paraneoplastic syndromes, defined in this book as "disorders caused by cancer, but not a direct result of cancer invasion of the affected organ or tissue," once believed to be rare and esoteric neurologic disorders have assumed increasing importance as an explanation of neurologic and other symptoms in patients suffered from occult or controllable cancers. This book attempts a comprehensive review of paraneoplastic syndromes from considering both clinical and pathophysiologic aspects. The book is divided into 4 sections: The first is an overview, classifying the disorders, describing a clinical approach to the diagnosis and treatment of paraneoplastic syndromes in general and identifying their pathogenesis. The section discusses the clinical findings and treatment of individual paraneoplastic syndromes with chapters dedicated to each of the neurologic syndromes and a chapter discussing nonneurologic syndromes such as endocrine, cutaneous, and rheumatologic paraneoplastic disorders. The third section discusses autoantibodies that characterize individual paraneoplastic syndromes. The final section discusses the paraneoplastic syndromes associated with individual cancers.

The last 2 decades have seen enormous strides in our understanding of the biological, genetic and clinical basis of the peripheral nerve disorders. This remains a difficult area for most practitioners. This text combines a thorough review of the neurologic literature with clinical experience in presenting a comprehensive yet concise and readable approach to the understanding, evaluation and management of these disorders. All practitioners seeing these patients, as well as all trainees in Neurology and related fields, should find this a useful, approachable initial resource.

Principles of Drug Therapy, Second Edition provides comprehensive coverage of current drug therapy in neurology while providing the background information that neurologists and other clinicians need to understand its rationale. The range of new drugs available for treatment of neurologicaldisorders is expanding rapidly along with rapid advances in the neurosciences that are uncovering disease mechanisms. Although there are many sources of drug information, most are limited to basic information about indications, dose and side effects. However the complexity of the nervous system isenormous and the information needed to understand drug effects is accordingly often not readily available in a single source. The book addresses that issue by presenting 18 focused, disease-related chapters by authors who are expert clinical sub-specialists as well as experts on drug therapy.The first chapter on fundamentals of drug therapy in neurology provides a readable synopsis of how the classic pharmacology concepts such as pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics are related to therapy in neurology. This section also discusses the pathogenesis of potentially serious side effectssuch as skin rashes and liver disorders, and the role of pharmacogenetics in both drug effect and side effects. Outstanding chapters on movement disorders, epilepsy, and headaches cover major areas of drug treatment in neurology practice. Additional chapters cover stroke, increased intracranialpressure in the intensive care unit, dementia, multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injury and spasticity, neuromuscular disorders and pain. Sleep, central nervous system infections and HIV, and drug intoxications are also covered. Areas of special interest to child neurologists covered in the bookinclude treatment of genetic metabolic disorders and use of stimulants and other medications for childhood cognitive disorders. An excellent chapter is also provided on drug treatment of psychiatric disorders because of the important of psychiatric drugs in neurology practice. This edition has beencompletely re-written from the successful edition published in the 90s and enlarged commensurate with the exciting progress in treatment in neurology.

This new edition of Evaluation and Treatment of Myopathies is written for the clinician who sees patients with muscle disease, or the patient with complaints pain or weakness of muscle. Like the original, this new edition is divided in to 3 primary sections: Approach to the Patient with MuscleDisease Specific Myopathies, and General Strategies of Clinical Management provides practical guidance on eliciting key history and on how to demonstrate findings on examination.This new edition also provides guidance on the next steps in diagnosisas well as the latest information on pathogenesis, diagnosis and treatment, in an integrated manner, so as to give trainees, practicing clinicians and others who see neuromuscular disease, perspective on how to evaluate and carefor patients. New and revised tables, figures and references are selected and organized to present information of clinical importance to provide the most up-to-date resource on the myopathies.

This second edition of Seizures and Epilepsy, written almost a quarter of a century after the ground-breaking first edition, is more than an update: it is a complete revision due to tremendous advances in the field. Our understanding of the fundamental neuronal mechanisms underlying epilepticphenomena, as well as current diagnosis and treatment, have been heavily influenced over the past several decades by seminal neuroscientific developments, particularly the introduction of molecular neurobiology, genetics, and modern neuroimaging.According to the World Health Organization, epilepsy accounts for 1% of the global burden of disease, equivalent to breast cancer in women and lung cancer in men. Among primary disorders of the brain, it is equivalent to depression, dementia, and substance abuse. Singly authored by Jerome Engel, Jr,this must-read from 1989 reasserts itself as a modern classic comprehensive textbook covering a broad range of both basic and clinical epileptology. Basic scientists who are interested in learning more about clinical epileptology, as well as clinicians who would like to understand more aboutfundamental mechanisms will find this text useful. Residents and postdoctoral fellows, particularly those interested in a career in epilepsy, will benefit from the continuity and organization of this single-authored comprehensive textbook.

This resource covers the signs, pathophysiology, genetics (where applicable), and treatment options of each form of hyperkinetic movement disorder. There is a presentation of clinically-focused information regarding the full spectrum of neurological and psychiatric conditions characterised by involuntary movements. This title expands on hyperkinetic movement disorders where substantial progress has been made in the understanding of the role of the basal ganglia in the pathophysiology of these hyperkinesia disorders and in motor control, muscle tone, posture, and cognitive processes.

Frontotemporal Dementia provides an in-depth look at the history, various types, genetics, neuropathology and psychosocial aspects of one of the most common but least understood causes of dementia, frontotemporal lobar degeneration, from one of the world's leading centers for the study ofdementia. Aided by the latest research in diagnosis, mechanism and treatment, this book captures the rich and quickly changing landscape of a devastating neurodegenerative disease, and offers up-to-date clinical advice for patient care.Frontotemporal dementia, in particular, raises psychological and philosophical questions about the nature of self, free will, emotion, art and behavior - important topics for practitioners and families to appreciate as they care for the sufferer. This book includes case studies, photographs andfigures from the leaders in the field and personal communication from the researchers driving these developments.

The purpose of this book is to present a focused approach to the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of the most common autonomic disorders that may present to the clinical neurologist. Autonomic Neurology is divided into 3 sections. The first section includes 5 chapters reviewing the anatomical and biochemical mechanisms of central and peripheral nervous system control of autonomic function, principles of autonomic pharmacology, and a clinical and laboratory approach to the diagnosis of autonomic disorders. The second section focuses on the pathophysiology and management of orthostatic hypotension, postural tachycardia, baroreflex failure; syncope, disorders of sweating, neurogenic bladder and sexual dysfunction, gastrointestinal dysmotility, and autonomic hyperactivity. The final section is devoted to specific autonomic disorders, including central neurodegenerative disorders; common peripheral neuropathies with prominent autonomic failure; painful small fiber neuropathies; autoimmune autonomic ganglionopathies and neuropathies; focal brain disorders; focal spinal cord disorders; and chronic pain disorders with autonomic manifestations.This book is the product of the extensive experience of its contributors in the evaluation and management of the many patients with autonomic symptoms who are referred for neurologic consultation at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. Autonomic Neurology focuses on clinical scenarios and presentation of clinical cases and includes several figures showing the results of normal and abnormal autonomic testing in typical conditions. Its abundance of tables summarizing the differential diagnosis, testing, and management of autonomic disorders also help set this book apart from other books focused on the autonomic nervous system.

This edition fills one of the few remaining 'neurologic gaps' within the 'Contemporary Neurology' series. The book offers proven, effective treatments for specific presentations and symptoms of multiple sclerosis along with a pathophysiological explanation of why they work.