The purpose of this guide is to provide resources related to diversity, equity and inclusion.
Coming Out and Disclosures
by
LGBT persons face multiple challenges when entering the coming out process, regardless of their age or place in society. Coming Out and Disclosures: LGBT Persons Across the Life Span is a comprehensive guide to the coming out process for LGBT individuals, how to prepare for disclosure, and how disclosure is received in various groups. The book examines sexual orientation and identities; developmental models of coming out; disclosure in adolescence, midlife, or later; coming out to parents and family members; and disclosure outside the family. The book also provides practitioners with guidelines for working with clients who want to make disclosures. Coming Out and Disclosures: LGBT Persons Across the Life Span brings together into a single source the latest research and current thought on the experiences of LGBT persons in a heterosexist society. This resource, which is also useful as a supplemental textbook, can be used as a guide to practice for professionals and can be used for in-service training and workshops. This invaluable book has an extensive bibliography. Topics in Coming Out and Disclosures: LGBT Persons Across the Life Span include the meaning of sexual identity across various populations, an overview of coming out in the heterosexist world, detailed analysis of the coming out process, examination of the coming out process at different ages, an overview of disclosures in the heterosexist world, detailed analysis of disclosures to parents and family members across various cultures, suggested interventions based on coming out models, special issues experienced in coming out, strategies to facilitate disclosures, and more. Coming Out and Disclosures: LGBT Persons Across the Life Span is an essential guide for any LGBT individual preparing to enter the coming out process, and practitioners in the helping professions, such as social work, counseling, and mental health. Ski Hunter, PhD, MSW, is a professor at the School of Social Work, University of Texas at Arlington. She teaches a course on LGBT issues, and has presented numerous workshops on this topic. Dr. Hunter has authored two books on midlife, including Midlife and Older LGBT Adults: Knowledge and Affirmative Practice for the Social Services . She was also the lead author of Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Youths and Adults published in 1998, co-author of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues in Social Work published in 2001, and lead author of Affirmative Practice: Understanding and Working with Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Persons . Acknowledgments. Introduction. PART I: FIGURING OUT WHO ONE IS AND COMING OUT. Chapter 1. Sexual Orientation and Sexual Identity. Chapter 2. Coming Out: Overview. Chapter 3. Critique of Coming-Out Models. Chapter 4. Coming Out Across the Life Span. PART II: DISCLOSURES ACROSS THE LIFE SPAN. Chapter 5. Disclosures: Overview. Chapter 6. Disclosures to Parents. Chapter 7. Disclosures to Others Inside and Outside the Family. PART III: PRACTICE WITH CLIENTS WHO ARE COMING OUT AND MAKING DISCLOSURES . Chapter 8. Chapter 9. Chapter 10. References. Index. "...very useful as a supplemental text in a class focused on or including discussion relating to LGBT issues and would provide not only insight into one of the most difficult and impactful processes in the lives of LGBT individuals but also concrete techniques and approaches for use in counseling practice and advocacy. This book is highly recommended for students and practitioners alike." -- The Family Journal, October 2008
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient (ClinicalKey)
by
Covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. Incorporates all of the latest guidelines for providers and patients, written by experts from a wide variety of disciplines involved in transgender patient care. Note: Users must register for and login to a personal ClinicalKey account to open a book chapter in PDF. (Due to publisher restrictions, some titles may not provide PDFs of book chapters; for those titles, only HTML full-text is available.)
Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care (Springer Nature)
by
Addresses concerns about underserved minorities experiencing inadequate emergency treatment and facing poorer healthcare outcomes. Discusses how to equip emergency healthcare professionals to practice medicine that is culturally competent in the broadest possible sense.
GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health (ProQuest Ebook Central)
by
This comprehensive review is the first handbook on LGBT physical and mental health created by the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association. It includes issues of physical, emotional, and sexual health; discusses prevention of disorders; and provides an appendix of organizations that may serve as sources for more information or assistance.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging: Research and Clinical Perspectives (DeGruyter)
by
Brings together cutting-edge research, practical information, and innovative thinking regarding the characteristics and processes of aging among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. Covers a range of subjects and provides a comprehensive knowledge base for practitioners, students, and researchers.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Healthcare: A Clinical Guide to Preventive, Primary, and Specialist Care (Springer Nature)
by
Contains up-to-date expertise from physicians renowned for their work in LGBT health. This important text fills an informational void about the practical health needs of LGBT patients in both the primary care and specialty settings remains, and serves as a guide for LGBT preventive and specialty medicine that can be utilized within undergraduate medical education, residency training, and medical practice.
LGBTQ-Parent Families: Innovations in Research and Implications for Practice, 2nd ed. (Springer Nature)
by
Offers a comprehensive overview of research on LGBTQ-parent families. Provides updated information and expands on the range and depth of current research. Features contributions from scholars in psychology, sociology, human development, family studies, gender studies, sexuality studies, legal studies, social work, and anthropology.
LGBTQ Voices in Education: Changing the Culture of Schooling (Taylor & Francis)
by
Addresses the ways in which teachers can meet the needs of LGBTQ students and improve the culture surrounding gender, sexuality, and identity issues in formal learning environments.
Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People, 3rd ed. (Taylor & Francis)
by
Provides a knowledge base for practice that will better prepare students and practitioners for working sensitively, competently, and effectively with LGBT individuals and groups. Discusses the pragmatic aspects of social work with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide
by
The very first textbook of its kind delivers the evidence- and case-based review clinicians need to address the unique healthcare realities of transgender and gender diverse adults As the visibility and acceptance of transgender and gender diverse adults increases, the demand for state-of-the-art health care services increases, too. Fenway Guide to Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care offers everything you to provide basic, culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adults patients. With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this comprehensive, practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides comprehensive instruction on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, it offers a roadmap that clinicians can use when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities.
Transgender and Gender Diverse Persons: A Handbook for Service Providers, Educators, and Families (Taylor & Francis)
by
Offers mental health professionals and other caregivers information and best practices for working with transgender and gender diverse persons and their families.
The same medical databases will contain information on gay and transgender health. However, the TMC Library offers a few subject specific databases for LGBTQ.
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms. For more information on searching PubMed, please visit the PubMed Database Guide.
((((((((("Sexual and Gender Minorities"[Mesh:NoExp]) OR ("Intersex Persons"[Mesh])) OR ("Transgender Persons"[Mesh])) OR ("Bisexuality"[Mesh])) OR ("Homosexuality"[Mesh])) OR ("Transsexualism"[Mesh])) OR ("Sexuality"[Mesh:NoExp])) OR ("Gender Dysphoria"[Mesh])) OR ("Gender Identity"[Mesh])) OR ((bisexual*[Title/Abstract] OR LGBTQ[Title/Abstract] OR GLBT[Title/Abstract] OR gay[Title/Abstract] OR gender identity[Title/Abstract] OR gender minority[Title/Abstract] OR gender minorities[Title/Abstract] OR homosexual*[Title/Abstract] OR intersex*[Title/Abstract] OR LBG[Title/Abstract] OR lesbian*[Title/Abstract] OR non heterosexual*[Title/Abstract] OR non-heterosexual*[Title/Abstract] OR queer[Title/Abstract] OR queers[Title/Abstract] OR sexual dissident*[Title/Abstract] OR sexual minorities[Title/Abstract] OR sexual minority[Title/Abstract] OR transgender*[Title/Abstract] OR transsexual*[Title/Abstract])
Current PubMed LGBTQ - Sexual and Gender Minorities Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
Disclaimer
It is the responsibility of the individual using the search string and/or reviewing the search results to use professional/clinical judgment to determine the accuracy, validity, and related interpretation of the search results.
Are we missing a specific resource? Please fill out the TMC Library Resource Suggestion Form so we can improve our collection.
