The titles below are available as e-books through the TMC library. Note: The TMC Library does not have access to all required or recommended BMI textbooks. If you are interested in a physical copy, you are welcome to try and borrow from other libraries using our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. If you feel the library should purchase any materials you may also suggest a resource.
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics in Health Care and Patient Safety
by
The first edition of Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics in Health Care and Patient Safety took the medical and ergonomics communities by storm with in-depth coverage of human factors and ergonomics research, concepts, theories, models, methods, and interventions and how they can be applied in health care. Other books focus on particular human factors and ergonomics issues such as human error or design of medical devices or a specific application such as emergency medicine. This book draws on both areas to provide a compendium of human factors and ergonomics issues relevant to health care and patient safety. The second edition takes a more practical approach with coverage of methods, interventions, and applications and a greater range of domains such as medication safety, surgery, anesthesia, and infection prevention. New topics include: work schedules error recovery telemedicine workflow analysis simulation health information technology development and design patient safety management Reflecting developments and advances in the five years since the first edition, the book explores medical technology and telemedicine and puts a special emphasis on the contributions of human factors and ergonomics to the improvement of patient safety and quality of care. In order to take patient safety to the next level, collaboration between human factors professionals and health care providers must occur. This book brings both groups closer to achieving that goal.
Ethics, Computing, and Medicine
by
New technology always raises compelling ethical questions. As those in medicine increasingly depend on computers and other intelligent machines, the intersection of ethics, computing and the health professions grows much more complex and significant. This book attempts systematically to identify and address the full range of ethical issues that arise when intelligent machines are used in medicine, nursing, psychology, and allied health professions. It maps and explores a variety of important issues and controversies, including ethics and evaluation in computational medicine, patient and provider confidentiality, responsibility for use of computers in medicine, appropriate use of decision support systems, outcomes of research and computational prognosis (including mortality predictions), and computer-based biomedical research - especially meta-analysis. This book is accessible to participants in the fields of bioethics and medical informatics. It is appropriate for physicians, nurses, administrators, ethicists, health attorneys, advanced undergraduates and graduate students.
Cybersecurity for EHealth
by
The modern realities of cybersecurity have uncovered the unpreparedness of many sectors and industries to deal with emerging threats. One of these sectors is the healthcare industry. The pervasiveness and proliferation of digital innovation, systems, and applications in global healthcare, especially powered by modern information and communications technologies, have created a threat domain wherein policy and regulation struggle to keep pace with development, standardization faces contextual challenges, and technical capacity is largely deficient. It is now urgent that healthcare professionals understand the most relevant concepts and fundamentals of global cybersecurity related to healthcare (particularly eHealth). Cybersecurity for eHealth: A Practical Guide for Non-Technical Healthcare Stakeholders & Practitioners combines a rigorous academic and practical professional approach in covering the essentials of cybersecurity. This book Distills foundational knowledge and presents it in a concise manner that is easily assimilated Draws lessons from real-life case studies across the global healthcare industry to drive home complex concepts, principles, and insights Helps eHealth professionals to deal more knowledgeably and effectively with the realities of cybersecurity Written for healthcare professionals without a background in the technical workings of information and communication technologies, this book presents the basics of cybersecurity and an overview of eHealth. It covers the foundational concepts, perspectives, and applications of cybersecurity in the context of eHealth, and traverses the cybersecurity threat landscape to eHealth, including Threat categories, agents, and objectives Strategies and approaches deployed by various threat agents Predisposing risk factors in cybersecurity threat situations Basic practical techniques for protecting against cybersecurity incidents at the personal and institutional levels A comprehensive and practical guide, this book discusses approaches and best practices for enhancing personal cybersecurity, covers the basics of data and information security in healthcare, and presents an overview of the goals and responsibilities of governance, ethics, and regulation in eHealth. Who should use this book? Healthcare stakeholders and practitioners seeking a better understanding of cybersecurity as it pertains to healthcare information and communication technologies Regulatory and Board Authorities seeking to design comprehensive and foundational training programs in cybersecurity for healthcare stakeholders and practitioners Chief Information Officers and Chief Information Security Officers of healthcare organizations needing a basic internal training resource for healthcare professionals Non-technical enthusiasts seeking to understand the threat landscape and realities of cybersecurity in healthcare
Biomedical Informatics: Computer Applications in Health Care and Biomedicine 5th ed.
by
This 5th edition of this essential textbook continues to meet the growing demand of practitioners, researchers, educators, and students for a comprehensive introduction to key topics in biomedical informatics and the underlying scientific issues that sit at the intersection of biomedical science, patient care, public health and information technology (IT). Emphasizing the conceptual basis of the field rather than technical details, it provides the tools for study required for readers to comprehend, assess, and utilize biomedical informatics and health IT. It focuses on practical examples, a guide to additional literature, chapter summaries and a comprehensive glossary with concise definitions of recurring terms for self-study or classroom use. Biomedical Informatics: Computer Applications in Health Care and Biomedicine reflects the remarkable changes in both computing and health care that continue to occur and the exploding interest in the role that IT must play in carecoordination and the melding of genomics with innovations in clinical practice and treatment. New and heavily revised chapters have been introduced on human-computer interaction, mHealth, personal health informatics and precision medicine, while the structure of the other chapters has undergone extensive revisions to reflect the developments in the area. The organization and philosophy remain unchanged, focusing on the science of information and knowledge management, and the role of computers and communications in modern biomedical research, health and health care.
Studying a Study and Testing a Test
by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
Effective Project Management
by
The popular guide to the project management body of knowledge, now fully updated Now in its eighth edition, this comprehensive guide to project management has long been considered the standard for both professionals and academics, with nearly 40,000 copies sold in the last three editions! Well-known expert Robert Wysocki has added four chapters of new content based on instructor feedback, enhancing the coverage of best-of-breed methods and tools for ensuring project management success. With enriched case studies, accompanying exercises and solutions on the companion website, and PowerPoint slides for all figures and tables, the book is ideal for instructors and students as well as active project managers. Serves as a comprehensive guide to project management for both educators and project management professionals Updated to cover the new PMBOK® Sixth Edition Examines traditional, agile, and extreme project management techniques; the Enterprise Project Management Model; and Kanban and Scrumban methodologies Includes a companion website with exercises and solutions and well as PowerPoint slides for all the figures and tables used Written by well-known project management expert Robert Wysocki Effective Project Management, Eighth Edition remains the comprehensive resource for project management practitioners, instructors, and students. (PMBOK is a registered mark of the Project Management Institute, Inc.)
Q and As for the PMBOK® Guide
by
In this newest edition, PMI presents straightforward questions and answers to the most common questions about project management, the project management framework, and the knowledge areas contained within the PMBOK® Guide - Sixth Edition. This handy reference will help project managers and students enhance their knowledge in specific areas and test themselves on issues that are essential to successful project management.
Workflow Modeling
by
At last ndash; here's the long-awaited, extensively revised and expanded edition of the acclaimed and bestselling book, Workflow Modeling. This thoroughly updated resource provides you with clear, current, and concise guidance on creating highly effective workflow systems for your organization. The new edition offers you an even clearer methodology, refined techniques, more integrated examples, and up-to-the-minute coverage of recent developments and today's hottest topics. Providing proven techniques for identifying, modeling, and redesigning business processes, and explaining how to implement workflow improvement, this book helps you define requirements for systems development or systems acquisition. By showing you how to build visual models for illustrating workflow, the authors help you to assess your current business processes and see where process improvement and systems development can take place.
Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics
by
The bestselling introduction to bioinformatics and genomics - now in its third edition Widely received in its previous editions, Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics offers the most broad-based introduction to this explosive new discipline. Now in a thoroughly updated and expanded third edition, it continues to be the go-to source for students and professionals involved in biomedical research. This book provides up-to-the-minute coverage of the fields of bioinformatics and genomics. Features new to this edition include: Extensive revisions and a slight reorder of chapters for a more effective organization A brand new chapter on next-generation sequencing An expanded companion website, also updated as and when new information becomes available Greater emphasis on a computational approach, with clear guidance of how software tools work and introductions to the use of command-line tools such as software for next-generation sequence analysis, the R programming language, and NCBI search utilities The book is complemented by lavish illustrations and more than 500 figures and tables - many newly-created for the third edition to enhance clarity and understanding. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a problem set, pitfalls section, boxes explaining key techniques and mathematics/statistics principles, a summary, recommended reading, and a list of freely available software. Readers may visit a related Web page for supplemental information such as PowerPoints and audiovisual files of lectures, and videocasts of how to perform many basic operations: www.wiley.com/go/pevsnerbioinformatics. Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics, Third Edition serves as an excellent single-source textbook for advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate-level courses in the biological sciences and computer sciences. It is also an indispensable resource for biologists in a broad variety of disciplines who use the tools of bioinformatics and genomics to study particular research problems; bioinformaticists and computer scientists who develop computer algorithms and databases; and medical researchers and clinicians who want to understand the genomic basis of viral, bacterial, parasitic, or other diseases.
Systems Medicine
by
This volume guides readers through the field of systems medicine by defining the terminology, and describing how established computational methods form bioinformatics and systems biology can be taken forward to an integrative systems medicine approach. Chapters provide an outlook on the role that systems medicine may or should play in various medical fields, and describe different facets of the systems medicine approach in action. Ultimately it introduces tools, resources and methodologies from bioinformatics and systems biology, and how to apply these in a systems medicine project. Written for the Methods in Molecular Biology series, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, and discuss experimental and computational approaches, methods, and tools that should be considered for a successful systems medicine project. Systems Medicine aims to motivate and provide guidance for collaborations across disciplines to tackle today's challenges related to human healthand well-being.
Systems Biology
by
This second edition volume expands on the previous edition with discussions of the latest advancements and methods used by scientists to study systems biology. The chapters in this book are organized into four parts. Part One looks at models in systems biology and parameters identification such as short peptide analysis, metastasis models, and metabolomics. Part Two covers computational methods in the study of organisms, and cancer non-linear dynamics. Part Three discusses critical transition states across Waddington's like landscapes such as understanding cell differentiation through single-cell approaches and modeling mammary organogenesis from biological first principles. Part Four talks about specific fields of investigation including inborn errors of metabolism, system biology approach in epithelial-mesenchymal transition, and an approach to understanding how COVID-19 spreads in the population. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Cutting-edge and comprehensive, Systems Biology, Second Edition is a valuable tool for any researcher looking to learn more about this important and developing field.
An Introduction to Cryptography
by
Continuing a bestselling tradition, An Introduction to Cryptography, Second Edition provides a solid foundation in cryptographic concepts that features all of the requisite background material on number theory and algorithmic complexity as well as a historical look at the field. With numerous additions and restructured material, this edition presents the ideas behind cryptography and the applications of the subject. The first chapter provides a thorough treatment of the mathematics necessary to understand cryptography, including number theory and complexity, while the second chapter discusses cryptographic fundamentals, such as ciphers, linear feedback shift registers, modes of operation, and attacks. The next several chapters discuss DES, AES, public-key cryptography, primality testing, and various factoring methods, from classical to elliptical curves. The final chapters are comprised of issues pertaining to the Internet, such as pretty good privacy (PGP), protocol layers, firewalls, and cookies, as well as applications, including login and network security, viruses, smart cards, and biometrics. The book concludes with appendices on mathematical data, computer arithmetic, the Rijndael S-Box, knapsack ciphers, the Silver-Pohlig-Hellman algorithm, the SHA-1 algorithm, radix-64 encoding, and quantum cryptography. New to the Second Edition: An introductory chapter that provides more information on mathematical facts and complexity theory Expanded and updated exercises sets, including some routine exercises More information on primality testing and cryptanalysis Accessible and logically organized, An Introduction to Cryptography, Second Edition is the essential book on the fundamentals of cryptography.
Public Health Informatics and Information Systems Third Edition
by
This 3rd edition of a classic textbook examines the context and background of public health informatics, explores the technology and science underlying the field, discusses challenges and emerging solutions, reviews many key public health information systems, and includes practical, case-based studies to guide the reader through the topic. The editors have expanded the text into new areas that have become important since publication of the previous two editions due to changing technologies and needs in the field, as well as updating and augmenting much of the core content. The book contains learning objectives, overviews, future directions, and review questions to assist readers to engage with this vast topic.
Studying a Study and Testing a Test
by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
Personal Health Informatics
by
This book clarifies consumer and personal health informatics and their relevance to precision medicine and healthcare applications. Personal Health Informatics covers a broad definition of this emerging field, with individuals not simply consuming health but as active participants, researchers and designers in the healthcare ecosystem. The world of health informatics is constantly changing given the ever-increasing variety and volume of health data, care delivery models that shift from fee-for-service to value-based care, new entrants in the ecosystem and the evolving regulatory decision landscape. These changes have increased the importance of the role of patients in research studies for understanding work processes and activities, and the design and implementation of health information systems. Therefore, personal health informatics now provide research tools and protocols to engage within individual contexts when developing solutions, which can improve clinical practice, patientengagement and public health. Personal Health Informatics offers a snapshot of this emerging field, supported by the methodological, practical, legal and ethical perspectives of researchers and practitioners. In addition to being a research reader, this book provides pragmatic insights for practitioners in designing, implementing and evaluating personal health informatics in healthcare settings. It represents an excellent reader for students in all clinical disciplines and biomedical and health informatics to learn from the case studies provided in this emerging field.
Data Mining
by
Data Mining: Practical Machine Learning Tools and Techniques, Fourth Edition, offers a thorough grounding in machine learning concepts, along with practical advice on applying these tools and techniques in real-world data mining situations. This highly anticipated fourth edition of the most acclaimed work on data mining and machine learning teaches readers everything they need to know to get going, from preparing inputs, interpreting outputs, evaluating results, to the algorithmic methods at the heart of successful data mining approaches. Extensive updates reflect the technical changes and modernizations that have taken place in the field since the last edition, including substantial new chapters on probabilistic methods and on deep learning. Accompanying the book is a new version of the popular WEKA machine learning software from the University of Waikato. Authors Witten, Frank, Hall, and Pal include today's techniques coupled with the methods at the leading edge of contemporary research. Please visit the book companion website at https://www.cs.waikato.ac.nz/~ml/weka/book.html. It contains Powerpoint slides for Chapters 1-12. This is a very comprehensive teaching resource, with many PPT slides covering each chapter of the book Online Appendix on the Weka workbench; again a very comprehensive learning aid for the open source software that goes with the book Table of contents, highlighting the many new sections in the 4th edition, along with reviews of the 1st edition, errata, etc.
Digital Health Technologies
by
Increasingly digital technologies are used in healthcare. This book explores eight digital health technologies, situated the context of a life span, from high-throughput genomic sequencing technologies and do-it-yourself (DIY) insulin delivery for diabetes management in paediatrics, to the use of robotic care assistants for older adults and digital advance care decisions. A scene-setting case scenario at the start of each chapter describes the digital technology and identifies the sometimes competing interests of the key stakeholders. Broad themes of resource allocation, access to technologies, informed consent, privacy of health data and ethical concerns are considered in context, alongside analysis of legal duties owed by healthcare professionals to act in their patients' best interests. This book addresses legal and ethical issues arising from the use of emerging digital health technologies and is of interest to academics, clinicians and regulators and anyone interested in the development of health technologies and the challenges they may present. It focusses on the Australian legal framework, with some comparison to other jurisdictions.
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy
by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy, Sixth Edition is the ultimate 'how to' guide for learning the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. This text is an outstanding resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. The hallmark of this text is the inclusion of the Matrix Method developed by the author which outlines one of the many ways to approach a literature review. This method is a practical, easy-to-use structure and process for reviewing research literature, particularly in the health sciences and nursing. Updates on PRISMA New content on predatory publishing "How-to" format, step-by-step instructions and practical examples Templates and interactive web resources Navigate Companion Website, including learning objectives and additional resources on the use of data visualization in health literature reviews Capstone courses in nursing and health professions courses © 2022 | 250 pages
Studying a Study and Testing a Test
by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
Science Research Writing
by
This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English.Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used.
The DigitalCommons@TMC houses previous works for the McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics at UTHealth Houston. On this wepbage you can find:
You can view the webpage here at: https://digitalcommons.library.tmc.edu/uthshis/