Surgery Resources

For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

An ideal resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 13th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the consistent, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout all 263 chapters, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics such as management of rectal cancer, inguinal hernia, and colon cancer. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes seven all-new chapters: REBOA in Resuscitation of the Trauma Patient, Treatment of Varicose Veins, Management of Infected Grafts, Radiation for Pancreatic Malignancies, Pneumatosis Intestinalis, Proper Use of Cholecystostomy Tubes, and Pelvic Fractures. Integrates all minimally invasive surgical techniques into relevant chapters where they are now standard management. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Features full-color images throughout, helping you visualize key steps in each procedure. Helps you achieve better outcomes and ensure faster recovery times for your patients. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The best cases, the best questions, the best review for the General Surgery boards and ABSITE General Surgery Examination and Board Review is the perfect way to prepare for General Surgery certification exams.  Covering the full range of exam topics, this high-yield review features an effective case-based approach that sharpens clinical decision-making skills and gives the content real-world relevancy.  Each of the more than 100 chapters opens with a clinical case and is followed by Q&A related to that particular case. You also get detailed evidenced-based answer explanations and references to facilitate more in-depth study.  Features: * Topics mirror the exam blueprint to ensure you are studying the most relevant material possible * Enables you to incorporate the proven benefits of case-based review into general surgery board review * An essential resource for general surgery residents as well as practicing surgeons preparing for recertification; medical  students aiming for high honors will also find the content invaluable during their surgery rotation * More than 700 questions - all with detailed answer explanations * Includes chapters on timely topics such as ethical/legal issue, robotic-assisted surgery, end of life care, and surgical nutrition * Coverage reflects the very latest clinical advances so you can incorporate this information into your exam preparation or daily practice  

A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition , continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone , the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Key Features Problem-based approach teaches critical thinking and mirrors the decision-making process of the intensive care unit Expert perspectives from Dr. Marino help sharpen technique, minimize error, and improve outcomes Reader-friendly format makes essential information easy to locate and apply "Final Word" summaries at the conclusion of each chapter highlight salient points and improve retention of key concepts NEW to the Fourth Edition Fully rewritten content (including eight new chapters) assures readers of only the most up-to-date and practical information available Full-color format emphasizes clinical anatomy and facilitates visual learning Additionally, this publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list

Edited by Dr. Marc Neff, Passing the General Surgery Oral Board Exam, Second Edition helps candidates prepare for the General Surgery Oral Board Exam in a different way than other review books. In addition to covering concepts frequently addressed on the test, the review also alerts you to "common curveballs" and "strikeouts"- the unexpected problems or seemingly benign actions (or inactions) that could result in a missed diagnosis or misdiagnosis, and thus result in failure to pass the exam. Fully updated and expanded to reflect the many changes in standards of care, this unique study guide is the first to expose the potential traps and pitfalls of the exam by providing examples of how the questions may be asked and what not to say in response. nbsp; Designed to be used in conjunction with medical textbooks and other study guides, Passing the General Surgery Oral Board Exam, Second Editionnbsp;prepares candidates to think on their feet and answer exam questions confidently and accurately. It is an essential guide for surgical residents, fellows across the surgical subspecialties, and practicing surgeons who are board eligible.

Trust your ABSITE and board preparation to the only review based on the field's cornerstone text: Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 9e 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "It will be particularly helpful to those in general surgery training programs, to general surgeons facing their board exams or recertification exams, and to all those subspecialty trained surgeons who must first qualify in general surgery and maintain their certification....This is a really high-quality review book."--Doody's Review Service Featuring chapters that correspond directly to the classic Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 9e, this powerful review delivers more than 1,100 questions that are likely to appear on the American Board of Surgery in-training exam and the surgery board exam. Developed by some of the top minds in modern surgery, these board-style questions provide the most current, authoritative perspectives on surgical practice. Each question is accompanied by answers and comprehension-building rationales, ensuring a complete understanding of the material. Featuring more tables and figures than any previous edition, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review is truly the ultimate resource for certification and recertification exam review. Features Chapters keyed to Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 9e so you know you're studying only relevant, applicable material from the most authoritative source possible 1100+ board-style questions with answers and rationales Questions in each chapter are divided into Basic Science and Clinical categories to facilitate studying for the two-part ABSITE Two new chapters: Molecular Biology and Ethics, Palliative Care, and Care at the End of Life

Generations of residents and general surgeons have relied upon and worn out their copies of Surgical Anatomy and Technique: A Pocket Manual. Thoroughly revised and with dozens of new illustrations, the fourth edition continues the tradition of providing a concise, accessible, and generously illustrated memory refresher for both novice and experienced clinicians.   The editors have included techniques to keep the content fresh, relevant, and practice-based. Among the new topics are hand surgery, a section on central venous access, and creating an AV fistula for dialysis.  All the existing chapters have been updated and expanded to reflect current surgical approaches and instrumentation.   This fourth edition of Surgical Anatomy and Technique: A Pocket Manual provides the gold standard in correlating clear, practical anatomy with the correct technique in the pursuit of the best possible patient outcomes. This handy pocket manual remains a "must have" for every resident and general surgeon.