Surgery Resources

For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Essential Surgical Procedures provides general surgery residents and trainees with the fundamental Essential-Common procedures they need to know in order to demonstrate competency on their exams and perform procedures successfully. Combining key information from multiple leading reference works published by Elsevier, it includes detailed sets of step-by-step instructions for 89 specific procedures in various surgical areas, delivering clear, definitive guidance on clinical anatomy, perioperative considerations, and operative technique for each. The content is supplemented with copious line drawings, clinical photographs and, wherever possible, real-time video clips capturing key moments of a surgical procedure

For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of general surgery in both elective and emergency situations. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. The extensive revisions to this edition of Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery are intended to maximize its appeal to all those in general surgical practice. There are several entirely new chapters on subjects previously covered in other volumes of the series, while the remaining chapters have been revised, updated or re-written by new authors where appropriate. The new chapters include those on the Evaluation of surgical literature; Enhanced recovery; Organ donation and general surgery in transplant patients; and Principles of neck surgery for the general surgeon. For the first time this volume includes a chapter on Patient safety and human factors in surgery, which distills the core knowledge that is fundamental to achieving good outcomes (and avoiding bad ones) in practice for all grades of surgeon.

Essential Surgery is well-established as one of the leading textbooks of surgery for medical students, core surgical trainees and those in professions allied to medicine. Covering general surgery, trauma, orthopaedics, vascular surgery, urology, paediatric surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery, maxillofacial surgery and ENT, it also incorporates appropriate levels of basic science throughout. The book is ideal to accompany clinical courses, as well as being a practical manual for readers at more advanced levels requiring a revision aid for exams. Its main aim is to stimulate the reader to a greater enjoyment and understanding of the practice of surgery. The uniformity of the writing style and the clarity of elucidation will encourage continued reading, while the emphasis on the principles of surgery will enable a real understanding of the subject matter. The book incorporates a problem-solving approach wherever possible, emphasising how diagnoses are made and why particular treatments are used. The pathophysiological basis of surgical diseases is discussed in relation to their management, acting as a bridge between basic medical sciences and clinical problems. The book's extensive use of original illustrations, colour photographs, radiology images, boxes and tables emphasises important concepts and will promote easy revision of topics. The principles of operative surgery and pre-, peri- and postoperative care are explained together with outlines of common operations, enabling students and trainee surgeons to properly understand procedures and to participate intelligently in the operating department. A major and comprehensive revision of the text has taken full account of the progressive evolution of surgery and includes new scientific and clinical concepts that have advanced medical understanding. Ensuring the book's contents are aligned to the curriculum of the UK Intercollegiate MRCS examination has resulted in the addition of new topics including an emphasis on peri-operative care optimisation, enhanced recovery programmes, antibiotic use and resistance, updated cancer staging, minimally invasive surgery, and the evolving role of interventional radiology. Additional essential governance and management topics are covered, including patient safety, surgical ethics, communication, consent, clinical audit and principles of research. The broad experience of surgical teaching and training of two new editors and many new contributors, all with sub-specialist expertise, have brought a contemporary perspective on the book's contents and its presentation. New national and international guidelines for managing common disorders have been incorporated where appropriate, including major haemorrhage management pathways and trauma. There are new dedicated chapters on major trauma management and elective orthopaedics.

2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Surgery category! General Surgical Operations is a highly-praised and comprehensive textbook of operative surgery. It is a practical manual aimed at the surgeon who is about to carry out an operation, rather than just a description of the principles suitable for an examiner. Kirk's General Surgical Operations continues to be aimed at a broad readership: the candidate preparing for the Intercollegiate FRCS in General Surgery or international equivalents; the trained surgeon faced, through necessity, with undertaking an infrequently performed procedure; and the many surgeons working in hospitals throughout the world without access to specialist services. It remains above all a practical text which will guide the surgeon in training, or one unfamiliar with a procedure, on how to perform it, but more importantly on how to manage the uncertainties which so often arise This is a 'What to do' book. Using it the reader can aspire to gain diagnostic, decision making and operative surgical competence with confidence. The book is written in a clear and direct style and providing explicit instructions using descriptive headings for easy reference. The contents covers standard routine operations in full; non-routine and rarely performed operations are included only where appropriate and in lesser detail The text includes advice on topics such as patient selection; preparation and access to the site of operation; how to accomplish the procedure; closing and aftercare Difficulties are highlighted and advice given on how to respond to unexpected findings Each procedure is fully described thus avoiding repetitions and cutting cross-references to a minimum Regular summaries of key points in the decision making process are included. This Sixth Edition is now known as Kirk's General Surgical Operations in recognition of its distinguished founding editor, Professor RM Kirk, who is now Editor Emeritus on the textbook. The new editorial team for the Sixth Edition comprises a colorectal surgeon, a vascular surgeon and an orthopaedic surgeon The contents have been restructured and radically revised into 42 chapters, the majority of which have been completely rewritten. Laparoscopic techniques have been incorporated into all relevant chapters. All the illustrations have been redrawn to improve their clarity.

Video Atlas of Advanced Minimally Invasive Surgery brings you the detailed visual guidance and unmatched expertise you need to master the most important and cutting-edge minimally invasive procedures and the treatment of unusual cases. Full-color photographs and narrated procedural videos online and on DVD lead you step by step through today's most effective techniques. Tips and "secrets" from a veritable "who's who" in the field equip you to deliver optimal results while minimizing or avoiding complications. Hone and expand your surgical skills by watching videos of Dr. Frantzides and other leading international experts performing advanced techniques. Visualize how to proceed by reviewing beautifully illustrated, full-color anatomic artwork which provides well-rendered representations of underlying structures, anatomy, and pathology. Prevent and plan for complications prior to a procedure thanks to a step-by-step approach to each procedure, complete with personal techniques and secrets from leading experts. Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information about minimally invasive techniques and "closed" procedures including laparoscopic Whipple procedure; revision for failed bariatric procedures; and avoiding and managing complications of single port procedures. Take it with you anywhere! Access the full text, video clips, and more online at expertconsult.com

Revised, updated, and enhanced from cover to cover, the Sixth Edition of Greenfield,,s Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice remains the gold standard text in the field of surgery. It reflects surgery,,s rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques, integrating new scientific knowledge with evolving changes in surgical care. Updates to this edition include new editors and contributors, and a greatly enhanced visual presentation. Balancing scientific advances with clinical practice, Greenfield,,s Surgery is an invaluable resource for today,,s residents and practicing surgeons. Key Features: - Features enhanced, full-color illustrations, clinical photographs, key teaching points, and decision-making algorithms for quick reference to key information. - Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. - Introduces two new editors, Hasan Alam, MD and Timothy Pawlik, MD, who bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. - Showcases the scientific and clinical expertise of more than 200 contributing authors, each an active practitioner in the field of surgery. - Contains many unique and practical chapters, including recent advances in patient safety and fetal surgery. - Need to mention somewhere that there are 2 new chapters on Obesity and and Preoperative Risk Assessment, - Presents Trauma and Transplantation information in separate sections, with focused chapters devoted to each. - eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: - Complete content with enhanced navigation - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web - Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation - Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text - Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues

Here are the core procedures every general surgeon needs to master, in step-by-step detail with commentary from experts in the field. In two full-color volumes, Fischer's Mastery of Surgery, Seventh Edition includes the essentials of diagnosis, anatomy, and pre-operative planning while maintaining a focus on clear, step-by-step depictions and descriptions of procedures. This thoroughly revised edition brings you up to date with evidence-based approaches for virtually any surgery you'll be called upon to perform.Key Features Provides extensive coverage of vascular surgery as well as of common thoracic, breast, esophageal, endocrine, colorectal, gastric, pancreatic, liver, and biliary procedures. Walks you step by step through each procedure, with tips and cautions from leading surgeons. Includes background and history for each procedure, as well as diagnostic and postoperative considerations. Features more than 3,400 illustrations that offer a surgeon's-eye-view of the most advanced approaches. Concludes each chapter with expert editorial commentary that puts the chapter material in a broad context and provides helpful critiques of the most recent literature. Streamlines the table of contents to combine chapters on open and minimally invasive approaches. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click

Decker: Surgery was previously known as Scientific American Surgery and prior to that, for eleven years (2002-2013), the resource was known as American College of Surgeons (ACS). Decker: Surgery has a reputation for providing practicing surgeons and students with comprehensive and up-to-date surgical information. It covers all subspecialties of surgery plus Competency-Based Surgical Care, Care in Special Situations, Scientific Foundations, and Organ Systems with clear and actionable diagnostic and procedural recommendations.

No member of the emergency room or trauma ward physician should be without this 4th edition of The Trauma Manual: Trauma and Acute Care Surgery. Designed to be used as a quick reference, this multidisciplinary pocket guide addresses all areas of trauma and emergency surgery with a list of key points at the end of each chapter. In addition to a new section on the intensive care unit and an extended section on surgical emergencies, this manual also covers GI hemorrhage, hernias, bowel obstruction, pancreatitis, biliary tract disease, and other surgical challenges faced by trauma and emergency surgery personnel. Organized in a chronological fashion following the usual events and phases of care after injury or acute surgical illness, this user-friendly manual is one guide every trauma surgeon, surgical resident, surgical critical care specialist, emergency medicine physician, and emergency or trauma nurse, will want to keep close by.