Databases
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.
The unique features of Ovid's interface to the Medline database make it the preferred version of many researchers, particularly when researching for systematic reviews. Click "Change" next to "Resource selected" to limit your search to a desired subset or subsets of Medline, and make use of unique limiters and standard Ovid database features. Provides citations and abstracts from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. This version of Medline is restricted to The TMC Library's academic users.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience.
Other Resources
BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics
BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. BETs take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence, allowing physicians to make the best of what there is. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics.
University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (UK)
The Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) specialises in evidence synthesis, assembling and evaluating data from multiple research studies to generate robust evidence to inform health policy and practice.
We undertake high-quality systematic reviews and associated economic evaluations, develop underpinning methods, and promote and facilitate the use of research evidence in decision-making.
Over the past 20 years, we have completed over 200 systematic reviews covering a wide range of health care topics, many of which have had a direct impact on national policy.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
For further information on Trip click on any of the questions/sections on the left-hand side of this page. But if you still have questions please contact us via jon.brassey@tripdatabase.com