LibGuides: Tracking Your Publications: Bibliometric Resources

Analysis Tools

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (or JCR) is a product of Clarivate Analytics and is an authoritative resource for impact factor data. This database provides impact factors and rankings of many journals in the social and life sciences based on millions of citations. It offers numerous sorting options including impact factor, total cites, total articles, and immediacy index. In addition, JCR provides a five-year impact factor and visualized trend data.
Publish or Perish
Free software program that pulls information from several databases, including Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar, Microsoft Academic, and CrossRef.
Semantic Scholar
A free academic search engine known for its advanced AI-powered algorithms and extensive coverage of scholarly literature.
SciVal
A web-based tool that assesses research performance by analyzing publication and citation data.
Eigenfactor
Free resource that provides Eigenfactor scores and Article Influence scores.

VOSviewer
A free software tool made for "constructing and visualizing bibliometric networks. These networks may, for instance, include journals, researchers, or individual publications, and they can be constructed based on citation, bibliographic coupling, co-citation, or co-authorship relationships."
CiteSpace
A free Java-supported tool for "visualizing and analyzing trends and patterns in scientific literature. Primarily used for Web of Science, though data from other sides such as arXiv, PubMed, and NSF Award Abstracts can be obtained.
Bibliometrix
A free open-source R-tool that is used to complete complex scientific bibliometric analysis. It uses data from Scopus, Web of Science, Dimensions, PubMed, and Cochrane.

Measuring a Journals Impact
More information on how journal-level metrics are measured.
Bibliometric Analysis and Visualization LibGuide
From the University of Illinois Chicago Library
SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)
Free resource that ranks journals.
Metrics Toolkit
The Metrics Toolkit is an online resource that provides information about research metrics across scholarly disciplines to help educate individuals in the academic community. It gives a summary of how each metric is calculated, what it can be applied to, what it’s limitations are, and lists appropriate and inappropriate use cases.
Google Scholar Metrics
Free resource that contains top publications by h5-index.