It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians, AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
BrowZine works by organizing the articles available through the Texas Medical Center Library, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across disciplines.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience.
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center is the institutional repository of works produced by TMC faculty, researchers and students. This open-access digital library contains preprints, postprints, data sets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations and more. In cases where full text is not immediately available, the expected release date is noted below the record's download icon.
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.
Sections included: Biology, Bioengineering, and Science Education: Basic Biology
The unique features of Ovid's interface to the Medline database make it the preferred version of many researchers, particularly when researching for systematic reviews. Click "Change" next to "Resource selected" to limit your search to a desired subset or subsets of Medline, and make use of unique limiters and standard Ovid database features. Provides citations and abstracts from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. This version of Medline is restricted to The TMC Library's academic users.
Even for the layman, New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) needs no introduction, as this general medical journal's articles and their authors are often referenced or quoted in the news media. Full-text access is to the full range of issues, from the journal's inception in 1812 (as the New England Journal of Medicine and Surgery) to the present. Browse, search, or search for articles within a clinical specialty. Access to the years 1812-1989 was purchased in 2011 thanks to the support of the Brown Foundation, the John P. McGovern Foundation and Friends of The TMC Library.
PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.
Scientific American Medicine is a peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, covering 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine. Chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology and Women's Health. Includes CME opportunities. In Stat!Ref, click the Texas Consortium link at upper left to be routed to SAM.
Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. This subscription for educational institutions, provided via the Texas State Library, includes the latest editions of more than eighty standard texts and other respected medical and nursing titles.
Stat!Ref provides Mobile Access for IPhone, IPad,Blackberry and Android. See http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html for details. You can activate mobile access via your "Preferences" account. Once in your individual account, click "Temporary Log-in Account," and follow directions. Please note that for security reasons, your mobile access must be renewed every 90 days. Once your account is established, you will not need to log in with TMC Library to use mobile Stat!Ref.
For a video tutorial on setting up mobile access, see this link.
VisualDx is a web-based clinical decision support tool used to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. TMC Library’s VisualDx subscription includes mobile access. The VisualDx app is available on iPhone, iPad, and Android.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Journal Citation Reports (or JCR) is a product of Clarivate Analytics and is an authoritative resource for impact factor data. This database provides impact factors and rankings of many journals in the social and life sciences based on millions of citations. It offers numerous sorting options including impact factor, total cites, total articles, and immediacy index. In addition, JCR provides a five-year impact factor and visualized trend data.
MedOne Radiology features:
E-Books - A fully searchable database with access to 157 radiology e-books.
E-Journals - Full access to content from Seminars in Interventional Radiology and Seminars in Musculoskeletal Radiology.
Cases - Direct access to Thieme RadCases, a database with 3,253 must-know cases covering a broad range of radiology subspecialties.
Media - 121,500 images with legends and 395 videos.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
SPIE eBooks is a growing collection of titles from SPIE Press, the largest independent publisher of optics and photonics books. The collection includes SPIE Press monographs, reference works, field guides, tutorial texts, and Spotlight eBooks. Topics include Biomedical Optics & Medical Imaging, Imaging & Signal Processing, Nanotechnology, Optical Design & Engineering, and others.
The Web of Science is a database on the Web of Knowledge platform that integrates multiple citation indexes:
Web of Science Core Collection:
Science Citation Index Expanded: 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index: 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index™
Social Science & Humanities: 1990-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2015-present
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.