Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
The American West allows browsers to explore primary sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago that cover tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws.
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; also provides information on a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage: from the sixteenth century to the present.
Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
Covers current events including social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and controversial opinions and viewpoints. Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.