This informative text has been written as a user friendly research, reference and study tool. It has been organized into eight chapters, each of which covers a specific area of conducting a research study. All areas from forming the research question, planning and conducting the study, and preparing a grant application are covered. This book will be of particular value to scientists, research assistants, qualified or trainee physicians, nurses and allied health workers. The book will also be an essential companion for students in all disciplines who want to learn more about how to do good research.
The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is a comprehensive and authoritative source on qualitative research methods.The Handbook compiles accessible yet vigorous academic contributions by respected academics from the fast-growing field of qualitative methods in health research and consists of:A series of case studies in the ways in which qualitative methods have contributed to the development of thinking in fields relevant to policy and practice in health care. A section examining the main theoretical sources drawn on by qualitative researchers. A section on specific techniques for the collection of data.A section exploring issues relevant to the strategic place of qualitative research in health care environments.The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is an invaluable source of reference for all students, researchers, and practitioners with a background in the health professions or health sciences.
This ambitious and long-awaited volume brings together foremost nursing scholars, researchers, and educators to review and critique the state of research across areas most relevant to clinical practice. The contributorship appears as a veritable "who's who" of nursing research and the contents comprise primary areas in the vanguard of nursing science. In the first section, the authors explore theoretical issues, the variety of philosophical approaches to scientific inquiry in nursing, factors shaping nursing research, and the relationship of the philosophical perspectives to research methodologies. In later sections, the scientists review and analyze the state of nursing science in relation to community health, practice strategies, family care, health promotion, biobehavioral investigations, women's health, gerontologic nursing, and health system perspectives and outcomes. For physiological as well as psychological research, the most relevant theories driving the research are presented along with the review of multiple diverse instruments and measurement issues. Comprehensive in scope, cogent and truly thought provoking, a book such as the Handbook of Clinical Nursing Research arrives only once or twice in a career. It is a must-have shelf reference for every nurse and for those who would teach them.
'At last! A tour de force on cities and health by someone who knows that geography matters. This is a groundbreaking text, preoccupied as much with health and well-being as with death, disease and despair. It is concerned with who wins and who loses from the social and spatial patterning of riskâe¦ Combining breadth of coverage with depth of analysis, Health and Inequality provides an intricate map of harmful spaces and healing places, together with some guidelines on how to get from one to the other' - Professor Susan Smith, Ogilvie Professor of Geography, University of Edinburgh 'Too often as health professionals we remain embedded in nursing and medical literature neglecting the opportunities offered through engaging with other bodies of knowledge. Such an opportunity presents itself in this book which draws on work undertaken by geographers that can help us in our thinking about health inequalities. The strength of this work lies in its aim to ensure that place and space are recognised as significant factors in health inequalities' - Community Practitioner Health and Inequality presents a comprehensive analysis of how geographical perspectives can be used to understand the problems of health inequalities. The text has three principal themes: to discuss the geography of health inequality and to examine strategies for reducing disadvantage; to review and develop the theoretical basis for a geographical analysis of these problems - the discussion will illustrate how theoretical developments can help in the design and evaluation of intervention; and to explain how different methodologies in the geography of health, both quantitative and qualitative, can be applied in research - demonstrating the complementarity between them. By relating theoretical arguments to specific landscapes, Health and Inequality will be a key resource for understanding the articulation between theory and empirical methods for understanding health variation in urban areas.
Competition for research funds in epidemiology, preventative medicine, and biostatistics has never been more intense and, at the same time, the grant application and review process at such agencies as the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is undergoing significant transformation. Writing Dissertation and Grant Proposals: Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine and Biostatistics targets effective grant proposal writing in this highly competitive and evolving environment. Covering all aspects of the proposal writing process, the text: Provides summary checklists and step-by-step guidelines for grant structure and style alongside broader strategies for developing a research funding portfolio Explains how to avoid common errors and pitfalls, supplying critical do's and don'ts that aid in writing solid grant proposals Demonstrates proven tactics and illustrates key concepts with extensive examples from successfully funded proposals Written by an established NIH reviewer with inside knowledge and an impressive track record of funding, Writing Dissertation and Grant Proposals: Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine and Biostatistics is a virtual cookbook of the appropriate ingredients needed to construct a winning grant proposal. Therefore, the text is not only relevant for early-stage investigators including graduate students, medical students/residents, and postdoctoral fellows, but also valuable for experienced faculty, clinicians, epidemiologists, and health professionals who cannot seem to break the barrier to obtain NIH-funded research.
Emerging researchers need a range of specific skills to plan and successfully complete their research projects. While there are multiple books available on methods, there is much less information on the key skills needed to complete a project. Designing and Managing Your Research Project provides information about the key areas needed for a successful project. It includes software skills, developing research objectives, writing proposals, literature reviews, getting ethics approval, seeking funding, managing a project, communicating research findings, and writing reports. There is also a chapter on working as an independent researcher.Designing and Managing Your Research Project includes numerous examples, checklists, and practical exercises designed to assist the learning of research skills and the completion of crucial project tasks. It covers procedures needed for conducting projects electronically and accessing information from the Internet. This book is designed to complement texts covering quantitative and qualitative research methods in health and social sciences. It will be particularly useful to advanced undergraduate and graduate students planning theses and dissertations and other researchers in the early stages of their career.
A doctoral dissertation is arguably the most important journey that students will embark upon in their professional careers, so smart travelers will want E. Alana James and Tracesea H. Slater's Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster: A Proven Map to Success at their fingertips. James and Slater identify the key places and challenges that create extra stress during the dissertation process, and offer effective strategies and tools to address those challenges and ensure academic success. Their map walks readers through each step of the process, including: * determining the research topic, * choosing appropriate methods, * turning a hypothesis into a study, * completing a literature review, * writing and defending a proposal, * collecting and analyzing data, * writing up the study, and * ultimately defending the dissertation. Building on years of experience with doctoral students, the authors provide a comprehensive, yet easy-to-use tool that encourages student reflection; includes student stories, hints, and writing tips; and provides end-of-chapter checklists and ideas for incorporating social media. With the proven techniques and guidance of this indispensable book, doctoral students will finish their thesis or dissertation--faster!
The Fundamentals of Scientific Research: An Introductory Laboratory Manual is a laboratory manual geared towards first semester undergraduates enrolled in general biology courses focusing on cell biology. This laboratory curriculum centers on studying a single organism throughout the entire semester - Serratia marcescens, or S. marcescens, a bacterium unique in its production of the red pigment prodigiosin. The manual separates the laboratory course into two separate modules. The first module familiarizes students with the organism and lab equipment by performing growth curves, Lowry protein assays, quantifying prodigiosin and ATP production, and by performing complementation studies to understand the biochemical pathway responsible for prodigiosin production. Students learn to use Microsoft Excel to prepare and present data in graphical format, and how to calculate their data into meaningful numbers that can be compared across experiments. The second module requires that the students employ UV mutagenesis to generate hyper-pigmented mutants of S. marcescens for further characterization. Students use experimental data and protocols learned in the first module to help them develop their own hypotheses, experimental protocols, and to analyze their own data. Before each lab, students are required to answer questions designed to probe their understanding of required pre-laboratory reading materials. Questions also guide the students through the development of hypotheses and predictions. Following each laboratory, students then answer a series of post-laboratory questions to guide them through the presentation and analysis of their data, and how to place their data into the context of primary literature. Students are also asked to review their initial hypotheses and predictions to determine if their conclusions are supportive. A formal laboratory report is also to be completed after each module, in a format similar to that of primary scientific literature. The Fundamentals of Scientific Research: An Introductory Laboratory Manual is an invaluable resource to undergraduates majoring in the life sciences.
This book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximise their chances of publishing in international scientific journals. The book uses analysis of the scientific article genre to provide clear processes for writing each section of a manuscript, starting with clear story construction and packaging of results. Each learning step uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills based on reader analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, and for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing and polishing. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional language, and for individual scientists or mentors or a class setting. In response to reader requests, the new edition includes review articles and the full range of research article formats, as well as applying the book s principles to writing funding applications. Web support for this book is available at www.writeresearch.com.au