Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash.
Look for local First Aid courses available through Red Cross, Fire Departments, Community Centers, Churches, and Health Facilities. Prepare kits for emergencies and keep one in your car and one in your home.
Red Cross
The Red Cross provides training and certification in numerous areas from CPR and First Aid to Lifeguard training to Babysitting and child care training. First aid kits and life saving merchandise also available for purchase.
https://www.redcross.org/take-a-class
Mayo Clinic
The Mayo Clinic provides first aid instruction on black eyes and bruises to snake and tick bites.
Photo by Arek Adeoye on Unsplash
Exercise and Fitness Resources
The Arthritis Foundation: 12 Benefits of Walking
This site provides videos, information, workouts and routines that are beneficial and arthritis friendly.
https://www.arthritis.org/living-with-arthritis/exercise/workouts/walking/wow-of-walking.php
A booklet with guidelines for exercising, keeping track of your fitness, staying motivated, and how physical activity can change your life.
https://health.gov/moveyourway
Exercise and Physical Activity
From the National Institute on Aging, this resource provides information on the types of exercise, fitness safety, and motivation to keep you going!
https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/exercise-physical-activity
FamilyDoctor.org: The Exercise Habit
American Academy of Family Physicians provides this resource on making exercise a habit. This page includes how to check your heart rate and the various types of exercise and what they target.
https://familydoctor.org/the-exercise-habit/?adfree=true
Houston Parks and Recreation Department
Look for the Activities Guide and Class Catalog usually put out seasonally. There are programs for every age group all around Houston, and there is a wide selection of activities!
https://www.houstontx.gov/parks/
MedlinePlus: Exercise and Physical Fitness
This site provides lots of information, tips, activity guides, and specifics on physical fitness.
https://medlineplus.gov/exerciseandphysicalfitness.html
This commercial website provides plenty of information on running, tips, trails, and proper form. A good site for all things running related. Remember to consult your physician before beginning any exercise regimen.
https://www.runnersworld.com/running-tips/
This resource provides various exercise programs for seniors to keep up an active lifestyle. From walking to resistance strength training, there is a program just for you.
https://www.ncoa.org/article/exercise-programs-that-promote-senior-fitness
Also for seniors, available through many Medicare Advantage Plans. Numerous participating fitness locations and online videos with exercise programs specifically for those 65 and older.
https://www.silversneakers.com/