Skip to main content

Pharmacy and Drug Research Guide: Find Articles

Pharmacy Articles

The TMC Library is transitioning from print to online journals.  Most of the more current journals are only availabe online.

The library has several databases that search hundreds of journals for articles on your topic. To access them, you need to sign up for remote access. You'll need to use your institutional email address so we can verify your status.  You'll receive a verification email asking you to click the URL provided. You will then be emailed your username and password.

If we don't have a journal article you need, just fill out an interlibrary loan request and we'll find another library who will send us a copy for you. This is a free service for TMC affiliates!

Article Databases

PubMed: largest index of medical literature with citations to over 5,000 journals in MEDLINE and other related databases. Includes all fields, not just pharmaceutical sciences. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available.

EMBASE: is a major international biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.

CINAHL: the most comprehensive index for nursing and allied health journals (including pharmacy).

PsycInfo: citations to over 2,500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and related social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Academic Search Premier: An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500. Most are peer reviewed.  Includes many health sciences journals.

 

 

Search Strategies

Thousands of journal articles are available in our online databases. Pharmacy information is available in many of the 278 databases that we subscribe to. For advice on which database to use and how to search them effectively contact your liaison librarian.

The TMC Library teaches free classes in how to search use the databases. Sign up on the class calendar.  We also create tailor-made classes for your specific needs and can teach in your class or institution. Contact your liaison librarian to request a class.