Skip to main content

Pharmacy and Drug Research Guide: Pharmacy Databases

Pharmacy Databases

Many of the databases provide journal articles, drug information, statistics, news information, and more.  To access the Library’s online resources, you need to sign up for remote access. You'll need to use your institutional email address so we can verify your status.  You'll receive a verification email asking you to click the URL provided. You will then be emailed your username and password.

Databases with full-text journal articles

PubMed: largest index of medical literature with citations to over 5,000 journals in MEDLINE and other related databases. Includes all fields, not just pharmaceutical sciences. 

EMBASE: is a major international biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.

CINAHL: the most comprehensive index for nursing and allied health journals (including pharmacy).

PsycInfo: citations to over 2,500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and related social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Academic Search Complete: An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500. Most are peer reviewed.  Includes many health sciences journals.

Databases with Information on Drugs and other Pharmacy topics

AccessMedicine:  Information on drugs including news alerts, clinical pharmacology, indications and usage, contraindications, warnings/precautions, adverse reactions, interactions, dosing, pricing, patient education and more. Searchable by generics, trade names, and drug classes. Also includes books, images, videos, and a differential diagnostic tool called "Diagnosaurus."

Micromedex: a point-of-care evidence-based resource primarily for health professionals and students working in hospitals.  It's a gold standard for information on drugs, toxins and natural/herbal products. It includes several databases including Martindale, the Physician's Desk Reference, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, POISONDEX, and several alternative medicine databases. It includes FDA-approved indications and unapproved off-label indications as well as information on international drugs.

Scopus: the largest abstract and citation database (no full-text) of research literature and quality web sources. Provides citation data and h-index data (no full-text). Covers all topics including pharmacology, toxicology, and pharmaceutics. A large part of Embase is included.

TOXNET: a group of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases, consumer products, and related subjects. Interface allows simultaneous searching of all databases.

  • ChemIDplus (database of 370,000 chemicals with synonyms and structure data)
  • HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank)
  • TOXLINE (Toxicology Literature Online)
  • CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System)
  • DART (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database)
  • GENETOX (Genetic Toxicology Data Bank) and CPDB (comparative toxogenomics)
  • IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System- dose-response assessment)
  • ITER (International Toxicity Estimates for Risk)
  • LactMed (drugs and lactation information)
  • TRI (Toxics Release Inventory)
  • Haz-Map (occupational health)
  • Household Products (potential effects of chemicals in common household products)
  • TOXMAP (Geographic form of the TRI database)

ECOTOX: a source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife. ECOTOX integrates three previously independent databases - AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX - into a unique system which includes toxicity data derived predominately from the peer-reviewed literature.

Comparative Toxicogenomics Database: curates scientific data describing relationships between chemicals, genes, and human diseases. A primary goal of CTD is to advance the understanding of the effects of environmental chemicals on human health.
CTD facilitates cross-species investigations of the following types of associations:
•    Chemical–gene/protein interactions
•    Chemical–disease relationships
•    Gene/protein–disease relationships

Springer Protocols:  the most comprehensive database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. From the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and numerous other sources, this collection offers researchers access to decades of step-by-step protocols for use in the lab.