LibGuides: Tropical Medicine Guide: Databases

Description:

Here you can find a few database suggestions that may be helpful to your research.

You can also search for additional databases in our A-Z List of Databases

CDC laboratory identification of Parasitic disease of public health concern

DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern This link opens in a new window
Sections of this CDC resource, developed and maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM), include: Parasites and Parasitic Diseases/Parasites and Health; Diagnostic Procedures; Diagnostic Assistance; a section on training materials and announcements; and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals. Most images and material are in the public domain; to re-use, simply cite the source. A few images do require permissions to re-publish. Researchers may also contribute images to the database by contacting the DPDx team- see About DPDx for information. Includes instructions for specimen collection and shipping to CDC, under Diagnostic Procedures.

Bibliographic Databases

These databases contain citations of journal articles and other reports in the literature. Bibliographic citations typically include author, title, source, abstract, and/or related information (including full text in some cases).

Note: List not comprehensive of all bibliographic databases available throught the TMCL.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Uses a controlled subject vocabulary and includes evidence-based care sheets, as well as continuing education units. Subscribed to in partnership with THSLC.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The unique features of Ovid's interface to the Medline database make it the preferred version of many researchers, particularly when researching for systematic reviews. Click "Change" next to "Resource selected" to limit your search to a desired subset or subsets of Medline, and make use of unique limiters and standard Ovid database features. Provides citations and abstracts from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. This version of Medline is restricted to The TMC Library's academic users. Subscribed to in partnership with THSLC.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.

Bibliometric Databases

These databases contain citation analysis information (ex. how many times an author has been cited in key literature).

Need help formulating a database search?

We have a database searching guide for that!

TMCL Catalogs

Links to the catalogs located on our website.

Search Databases
Search for databases by title or terms that appear in the database descriptions.
TMC Library OneSearch: Search Journals, eBooks & Articles
Search electronic resources all at once or by item type.
Search Journals
Search for only journals by title, medical subject heading (MeSH), subject, or publisher.
TMC Library eBooks OneSearch
Search for only electronic books by title, medical subject heading (MeSH), subject, or publisher.

Citation Management

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases.

Need some help getting started with RefWorks? Consult our RefWorks Guide!

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.