Skip to main content

Systematic Reviews

A guide to understanding and creating systematic reviews.

Managing Citations

Citation managers can be a life-saver when trying to keep track of research, especially when you're working on a systematic review. Choose which citation manager is right for you! 

RefWorks
A web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters.  RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. 

EndNote
The TMC Library does not support EndNote, however, we recognize that a number of our users have an EndNote account. In order for EndNote to work properly with TMC Library Resources, users must include ezproxyhost.library.tmc.edu as the OpenID.
 

Mendeley
A reference manager that allows users to upload, read, and annotate PDFs in addition to 
generating citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word, OpenOffice, and LATeX. Users can also share documents with colleagues and access their accounts on mobile devices. 

 

Data Extraction and Management

Systematic Review Data Repository

The systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR) is a powerful and easy-to-use tool for the extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta-analysis. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data. 

Cochrane RevMan
You can use RevMan for protocols and full reviews. It is most useful when you have formulated the question for the review and allows you to prepare the text, build the tables showing the characterisitcs of studies and the comparisons in the review, and add study data. It can perform meta-analyses and present the results graphically. 

Cochrane Data Extraction Template
This template is intended to help you start developing your own data extraction form, it certainly has to be adapted to your specific question. Delete unnecessary informaiton and include all information important to your field.  

Help!

The following are print and video tutorials, handouts, and websites that will help you use the various citation managers available to you.