Skip to main content

Nursing Resource Guide: Finding Data Collection Tools/Instruments

Collections of resources useful to student and practicing nurses

Other Resources

Find Instruments in Our Databases

Database Descriptions and Search Tips
Database Description Search Tips Full-Text of Instrument
CINAHL

indexes Nursing and Allied Health literature and provides the detailed descriptions of over 350 popular instruments.

Find a Specific Test  Search by instrument name or acronym and limit to the Publication Type: Questionnaire/Scale [documents with partial or complete examples of questionnaires or scales] or Research Instrument [special CINAHL records that describe research instruments and may have an instrument appended];
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Instrumentation field and/or limit to the Publication Type: Tests/Questionnaires; OR search by keyword in the Instrumentation Index (click on More at the navigation bar at the top of the page and select Indexes)
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and additional subject headings such as (MH "Reliability and Validity+"); OR limit search results by selecting Publication Types: Research Instrument Utilization or Research Instrument Validation

Yes

ERIC

largest database of education literature in the world; includes a variety of document types including journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books

NOTE: ERIC often links to full text documents.  Many of the non-journal documents in the ED (ERIC Document) series, as noted in the Accession Number field, can be found at www.eric.ed.gov

Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym and limit to Publication Type: Tests/Questionnaires [articles where an instrument is included]
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and limit results to Publication Type: Test/Questionnaires
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and additional keyword or thesaurus terms such as test validity, content validity, construct validity, interrater reliability, test reliability, test reviews, etc. in the Descriptor field

Yes

ETS Test Collection

database of descriptive information for over 20,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education

NOTE: instruments available through Tests in Microfiche (TIM) are indicated as such by an entry in the Acronym or Order Information field of the individual record.

Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name 
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in SubjectSearch
No
Google Internet search engine Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Search by keyword; use Advanced Search to limit to file type such as pdf, or domain such as edu Yes
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)

 
comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, includes instruments not commercially or widely available Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym in the TI or AC field. Select Primary Source in search options under Source Code. View individual records to see the source reference.
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Measure field
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name or acronym and select the Source Code: Review Source
No
Health Services & Sciences Research Resources contains information on instruments/indexes employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources. Find a Specific Test Search Instrument/Indices only or browse (click Browse link in the left navigation column) the Instrument/Indices database By Title or By Source
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in Instrument/Indices only
No
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

contains full text information about, and reviews of, all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.

Find a Specific Test/ Search by keyword or test name

 

No

Medical Outcomes Trust not for profit organization dedicated to improving health and health care by promoting the science of outcomes measurement Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable Browse the list of instruments on the Instruments page; brief descriptions of the instruments and links to more information, including publisher, are included No
National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC) public repository of information on evidence-based care quality measures and measure sets, sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword or click on Measures to browse by category; use Advanced Search to limit by age, population, etc.
Nursing Reference Center

comprehensive reference tool for clinical nurses including documents providing descriptions of research instruments, clinical assessment tools, psychological tests, and attitude measures

Find a Specific Test Using Advanced Search, select Research Instruments as Document Type and search by instrument name  
Find Test for a Variable Using Advanced Search, select Research Instruments as the Document type and search by variable; OR click the Practice Resources tab on the search page then select Research Instruments to browse by category of instrument: Attitude Measures, Clinical Assessment Tools, Neuropsychological Tests, Personality Tests, Psychological Tests, Questionnaires, Research Instruments, Scales
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and click on the Research Instruments tab in the search results if available

No

PROQOLID site dedicated to identification and description of patient related outcomes (PRO) and quality of life (QOL) instruments; provides descriptions of over 690 questionnaires Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable Browse by alphabetical list of instruments, generic instruments, disease, target population, author's name; OR use the Search Engine to select from available Criterion options Yes
PsycINFO produced by the American Psychological Corporation, index of citations to the international literature of psychology Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym in one search box; in another search box type in the word ‘appended’ and select the Tests and Measures field. OR
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Tests and Measures field
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name in the Tests & Measures or Keyword or Abstract fields; add additional thesauraus terms such as Test Validity, Test Reliability in the Subjects field
Yes
PubMed biomedical database including MEDLINE Find Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym and terms such as scale, observation, questionnaire, etc.
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and additional keywords or Medical Subject Heading (MESH) terms such as scale, observation, questionnaire, psychological tests[mh], etc.
Find Test Reviews Use keywords such as validity, reliability or use MeSH terms such as validation studies[pt], validation studies as topic[mh], reproducibility of results[mh]
Yes
RAND Health "All of the surveys and tools from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial purposes). Some materials listed are not available from RAND Health. Links will take you to other websites, where you will find instructions for use." Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable Click on Surveys, browse by categories such as quality of life Find Test Reviews Yes