CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience.
PubMed is a database providing abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; it also indexes articles from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. PubMed, when accessed by registered Academic users via The TMC Library, links the user to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
Premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. Nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills, and read full-text journal articles anytime, and anywhere.
This mostly full-text resource contains full text or indexing for about 850 journals, providing scholarly articles, dissertations, training videos, cultural awareness materials, evidence-based practice content and more. It is a research resource for students of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, occupational therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features include "Study Paths" (resource collections for RN or LPN students-- reach these via the Browse button); MMWR reports on public health statistics and issues; and practice guidelines.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. Lexi-PAL Drug Guide is also indexed, which provides 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names covered. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
The SCOPUS database contains millions of records from 11,700+ life and health sciences publications (including all journals indexed for Medline and EMBASE) and covers most sciences and humanities fields-- total coverage, 22,800+ journal titles. SCOPUS also indexes over 8,000,000 conference papers. Searching also pulls in relevant Web resources, organized under a separate tab. Another tab separates patent results from patent offices in the US and worldwide. SCOPUS provides a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total cites divided by number of articles, and the percentage of non-cited articles. Affiliation searching is also provided. A free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile for saving citation lists and tracking authors; a publication alert service; and direct export to RefWorks. For SCOPUS tutorials, click here. NOTE: Scopus indexes only primary documents; this does not include book reviews and obituaries.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians, AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.
Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center is the institutional repository of works produced by TMC faculty, researchers and students. This open-access digital library contains preprints, postprints, data sets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations and more. In cases where full text is not immediately available, the expected release date is noted below the record's download icon.