This is the "Overview" page of the "Affordable Care Act" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Affordable Care Act   Tags: affordable care act, new healthcare law, obamacare  

Information on the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for consumers
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.tmc.edu/aca Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is the Affordable Care Act?

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) is a law that was created by The Obama Administration and was originally passed in March 2010 with full implementation coming in January 2014. The law will put into place comprehensive reforms that improve access to affordable health coverage for all Americans and protect consumers from abusive insurance company practices, among other improvements to healthcare in this country. 

 
The law is also referred to as:
  • Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
  • The New Healthcare Law
  • The Health Insurance Exchange
  • The Health Insurance Marketplace
  • ObamaCare 

Call the Dept. of Health and Human Services 24/7 for more information 1.800.318.2596 or connect with live chat.

 

Important Dates

Oct. 1, 2013: Open Enrollment begins

Dec. 23, 2013: Sign-up deadline for insurance to begin 1/1/14

Jan. 1, 2014: Health insurance coverage begins if you signed up by 12/15/13

March 1, 2014: Enrollment closes

Full timeline year by year

 

What You Need to Know

Healthcare.gov page for Individuals and Families - primary website for information about the ACA from the Dept. of Health and Human Services

Why Do We Need the ACA? - 1-page PDF from the American Public Health Association

Myths and Facts on the ACA - from Whitehouse.gov

Enroll America - nonpartisan 501(c)(3) whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the ACA

nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the - See more at: http://www.enrollamerica.org/about-us#sthash.4LyeXkyl.dpuf
nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the - See more at: http://www.enrollamerica.org/about-us#sthash.4LyeXkyl.dpuf
nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the - See more at: http://www.enrollamerica.org/about-us#sthash.4LyeXkyl.dpuf
nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the - See more at: http://www.enrollamerica.org/about-us#sthash.4LyeXkyl.dpuf
nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the - See more at: http://www.enrollamerica.org/about-us#sthash.4LyeXkyl.dpuf

Health Insurance Health Topics page - from MedlinePlus.gov

ACA resources page from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region

Facebook page for Healthcare.gov

nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the - See more at: http://www.enrollamerica.org/about-us#sthash.4LyeXkyl.dpuf
 

"Healthcare and You" video

11-minute overview on the ACA from Healthcare.gov

Outreach Librarian

Profile Image
Adela Justice
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
P: 713.799.7183
F: 713.799.7883
Send Email
 

Chat

Chat with a librarian!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip